View Single Post
Old 01-21-2006, 12:15 AM   #29 (permalink)
hulkster
Senior Member
 
hulkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-05-04
Posts: 281
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

hulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nicehulkster is just really nice
No problem digidogstudios - lotta FUD floating around in this contest and I'm sure we'll see a lot more. As an example, www.the-elursrebmem.com says the following:

# 2006/01/17: Well, I am noticing that I am on page 4 now, toggling between page 3 and 4. This is going to be really interesting to see where this is going to go. I wont provide a url or mention their name, but there is a certain contestant who claims to donate to charity if he wins, well everybody, I can tell you 100% that it is a scam. It is a genius idea, but cheap if you ask me!

# 2006/01/18: Well, I mentioned yesterday about a certain individual who is also trying to achieve success with v7ndotcom elursrebmem! Alot of people seem to be falling for his scam, but I will find a way around it definitely. If I win this contest, I will keep the money, and I will put my favorite songs on the ipod that I would also win. There. At least I am being honest about it, and not trying to scam you by making you think I am going to give it to a charity. Shame on him.

Interestingly enough, the owner of that site, Steven Hargrove, sent me an Email with a link request on January 17th - read more about that here and my two cents there is:
... but I assume me means someone else because he didn't check to see that the University of Maryland says they are "pleased to be the possible beneficiary of the latest Search Engine Optimization (SEO) Contest" which was up even before the contest started. I'll give Steve credit as he does state on his site "If I win this contest, I will keep the money, and I will put my favorite songs on the ipod that I would also win" as honesty is a good thing. He's got a cute picture of his son saying "help my daddy by linking to this website!" which I think is a nice approach ... so I wish him the best.


So I'm real curious to know which contest site www.the-elursrebmem.com knows is 100% a scam as that would be good information to share here. I would also be curious if digidogstudios has an problems with the "help my daddy" approach on that site - again, I thought it was a nice touch.


P.S. One last data point for the nay-sayers out there, and then I'll try to ignore this thread. I had several discussions with John after he announced this contest, and here's a snippet from a 12-31-2005, 09:21 AM Private Message I sent to John: "If the page wins, *ALL* proceeds go to charity" ... which John can confirm.

Last edited by hulkster; 01-21-2006 at 12:23 AM..
hulkster is offline   Reply With Quote