View Single Post
Old 05-06-2008, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
StarLab
v7n Mentor
 
StarLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 966
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
Day 1451: Trees

StarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to beholdStarLab is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via ICQ to StarLab Send a message via MSN to StarLab
Domain Name Scam...

Greetings...

Over the last couple days, 2 of my clients received the following emails from a company in Asia claiming a someone is trying to register other extension variations of their domain name.

Below is a copy of those emails. (I have snipped my clients info for privacy reasons)

Quote:
----- Original Message -----
From: Andy.Wang
To: [Snip!]
Sent: Tuesday, May 06, 2008 5:48 AM
Subject: Re: [Snip! (Domain name)]-Intellectual property rights (TO CEO)


Dear CEO,

We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On the May 5, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named "Getriches International Holdings Ltd" wanted to register following Domain names:
[domain snipped].asia
[domain snipped].cn
[domain snipped].com.cn
[domain snipped].com.hk
[domain snipped].com.tw
[domain snipped].hk
[domain snipped].net.cn
[domain snipped].tw
Internet trademark:
[domain snipped]
through our body.

After our initial examination, we found that the Internet trademark and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. We don't know whether you have any relation with them. These days we are dealing with it. Now we have not finished the registration of Getriches International Holdings Ltd yet, If we do not get your company's reply in the next 3 workdays, we will pass the application of Getriches International Holdings Ltd directly, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Andy Wang
Then a second email:

Quote:
----- Original Message -----
From: joanna.kuang
To: [Snip!]
Sent: Tuesday, May 06, 2008 6:10 AM
Subject: Domain Name & Internet keyword Registration


Dear [Snip!]. ,

This is Beijing Erimat Network Information Technology Co., Ltd, domain name registrant in China. A formal application dated on May 5th. from one company called Guangyuan Investment (China) Co., Ltd requested "[Snip!]" as their Chinese top-level domain name (.cn/.hk etc).and internet keyword Due to the possibility of involving your company name or trade mark, we bring this into your attention immediately in view of your priority and IPR according to the registration procedure. Please contact us for protective prior registration of those domains or learning more about it.

Kind Regards
Joanna.Kuang
An investigation revealed that this is a scam. They are trying to sell those additional domains to you with a hefty markup.

Beware!
__________________
Larry - Addicted to Coffee and Proud of it!

"Writing is the most fun you can have by yourself!" --Terry Pratchett
StarLab is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
SEO Hosting by HostGator  Advertise Here  Buy Blog Links