Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Blogging Forum

Blogging Forum Discuss general blogging issues here - design, integration, posting, trackbacks, ETC. Also discuss blogs you like.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 01-13-2011, 10:14 AM
smallboss smallboss is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Posts: 116
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Restricted by robots.txt

Admin: I hope I have posted this on the right category, I have searched though the threads I did not find a good answer/eve Google forum don't have it or none that I could find.

So here is the problem I will give all details that I can if you need more to help me I will give it out.

On my Google Webmaster tools I have this Crawl errors
it says
Restricted by robots.txt
it gives this URL
http://booksale101.blogspot.com/sear...s on Clearance

Now I'm confused, Is this a problem?
How does it affecting my little blog?
ad more importantly how do i fix the error?

Thank you in advance
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 01-13-2011, 11:51 AM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,536
iTrader: 5 / 100%
That is weird. It must be referring to something you have added to the page. Does it give a little more info on what it couldn't crawl?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2011, 08:12 PM
smallboss smallboss is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Posts: 116
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTMLBasicTutor View Post
That is weird. It must be referring to something you have added to the page. Does it give a little more info on what it couldn't crawl?
That is all the information it showed. http://booksale101.blogspot.com/sear...on%20Clearance with that URL,

I tried using labels as you have suggested (thanks you for that)
The thing is I did not make any special changes to any of that page/labels so why this singled out

Last edited by HTMLBasicTutor; 01-13-2011 at 08:30 PM. Reason: fixed link
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2011, 08:37 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,536
iTrader: 5 / 100%
See if any of these help labels, robot.txt, blogspot

I haven't added anything new to my Blogspot blog in ages so I am a little behind the times.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2011, 08:32 AM
smallboss smallboss is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Posts: 116
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTMLBasicTutor View Post
See if any of these help labels, robot.txt, blogspot

I haven't added anything new to my Blogspot blog in ages so I am a little behind the times.
Thank you, are you using WP then? or what platform you can recommend?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2011, 10:32 AM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,536
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallboss View Post
Thank you, are you using WP then? or what platform you can recommend?
I am using self installed Wordpress. You will need:
-a domain name
-a web hosting account (from a different company than your domain registrar)
-FTP software so you can upload the Wordpress files to your hosting account. I would not use the push button install at your hosting because you don't know what version they are going to install or if they have tweaked the install and have limited what you can do.
-a copy of Wordpress
-a theme. There are some free ones at Wordpress' Free Themes Directory to get you started.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2011, 11:17 AM
networkwebmaster96 networkwebmaster96 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 12-24-10
Posts: 131
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i faced this problem at the starting time of my blogging.
check your site map. the problem is there. Google can't find that and thatz why can't crawl your site. i am quite sure that your new contents are not indexed.
if you are using atom.xml then this problem will occur. i think the solution was also there. in my case there was an error message and i copied the whole message in Google and got the solution in some forum. it was 2years ago so can't remember bro. but the problem was in the site man its quite sure.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Blogging Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
robots.txt help please!!! csu SEO Forum 6 01-07-2011 09:19 AM
Excluding pages - robots.txt vs meta robots tag Mobile Development SEO Forum 6 08-31-2010 08:45 PM
robots.txt John Scott Web Design Lobby 6 10-15-2003 07:14 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC