Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:28 PM
Phil in Abbeville Phil in Abbeville is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-05-08
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 237
iTrader: 0 / 0%
List messed up in IE

I know this is hard to believe, but I have a list that displays just fine in Firefox but just falls apart in Explorer. :rolleyes:

The link is :http://www.nosaintshistory.com/leade...rns_career.htm

my code:
Code:
The li reset li { display: inline; line-height: 1; } sets up all the li: #content li { border-bottom: 1px double #000; margin: 4px 0; float: left; list-style: none; } the li in question: .year { text-align: center; width: 110px; display: inline; }
Now everything is honky-dorey like this. The problem comes in when I need to fill one particular li with smaller text, to make it all fit.
I'm trying by wrapping the text in a <p> tag and adding a <style> in the head for that <p> tag.

Code:
<style type="text/css"> <!-- .small { font-size: .7em; display: inline; line-hieght: 1; } --> </style>
Like I said, in FF it's fine.
In IE7, it's not.
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:59 PM
Hades's Avatar
Hades Hades is offline
Senior Web Developer
 
Join Date: 01-23-07
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2,273
iTrader: 0 / 0%
When tabulating data you shouldn't use a list. This is the only appropriate scenario for using tables. Take advantage of them.

But if you insist in using lists, I suggest in this case that you apply a width value to the <li> elements.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2009, 07:28 AM
Phil in Abbeville Phil in Abbeville is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-05-08
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 237
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I already have a width of 110px assigned to the li 's.

I hear what you're saying about using tables. But if I change the layout on this page, I'd have to change the layout on 30 other pages.
I'm in too deep!
But, I did manage to fix it.
I assigned a height to the li 's of 1em and then gave the class of the <p> an increased line-height.

Everything's good now!

Thanks Dude!
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSN is all messed up! searchbliss SEO Forum 27 04-14-2007 08:43 PM
V7n blog looks messed up in IE6 digital_success Tech Talk 2 11-11-2006 03:11 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC