Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2010, 12:32 PM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 49,859
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Coding Issue (Wordpress) Error message Stylesheet issue maybe

This is not the blog in my siggie. I just bought a wordpress site and the creator logged off to go to bed after helping me with lot of other things after purchasing. Because of the Time zone issue, he had to go to bed.

When i am in my admin panel on some menu buttons i visit to ediit some settings i get this error message that pops up on a blank IE screen "Please switch to Firefox / Safari" Now the creator of the site had no issues using IE 7 and with those other browsers but i am using IE8. I don't want to have to download other browsers just to be able to edit certain settings on the blog. I can access other menu links but certain ones i get that message.

Is this a problem a bad plugin or with my Stylesheet? I am not a coding wiz and not going to post the URL just yet, still have things to change but need to get this issue out of the way.
__________________
WP Outcast - WordPress News, Tips & Theme Release's

Like Us on Facebook
facebook.com/wpoutcast
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2010, 12:46 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 21,094
iTrader: 5 / 100%
1. Are you using the latest version of WP?

2. Did this come with a custom admin theme?
__________________

HTML Basic Tutor - Learn how to code for better SEO
Basic Computer Information - Computer & internet basics for website owners

SEO troubleshooting and review services available. - Pm me.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2010, 01:04 PM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 49,859
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by htmlbasictutor View Post
1. Are you using the latest version of WP?

2. Did this come with a custom admin theme?
Yes i am using wordpress 2.9.1

What do you mean by custom admin theme? It's just the normal wordpress admin panel options with few extra's since there is other plugins installed. No special coding done to the admin panel.
__________________
WP Outcast - WordPress News, Tips & Theme Release's

Like Us on Facebook
facebook.com/wpoutcast
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2010, 01:19 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 21,094
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by snakeair View Post
What do you mean by custom admin theme? It's just the normal wordpress admin panel options with few extra's since there is other plugins installed. No special coding done to the admin panel.
Have seen some plugins for customizing the admin side, just thought I'd ask as a problem solving route.

Using version 2.8.6 and IE8 one can't reply to a comment from the admin. Thought they might have fixed that in 2.9.1. Evidently not.

What happens if you tell IE8 to use compatibility mode? Not a solution I like, but maybe it will solve your immediate problem.

Edit:
There's a conditional statement in the head of the admin code source to use a different stylesheet if IE7. = the coders did not take the time to make this cross-browser compatible using a single stylesheet.
__________________

HTML Basic Tutor - Learn how to code for better SEO
Basic Computer Information - Computer & internet basics for website owners

SEO troubleshooting and review services available. - Pm me.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2010, 01:44 PM
snakeair's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Southampton, NJ
Posts: 49,859
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Thanks for your help. After eating something and doing a search i found my answer. It was a issue with the WP Omatic plugin. The fix for this is on this page. (5th post on that page) http://wordpress.org/support/topic/310640
__________________
WP Outcast - WordPress News, Tips & Theme Release's

Like Us on Facebook
facebook.com/wpoutcast

Last edited by snakeair; 02-14-2010 at 01:49 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Client Holding Money Hostage over PayPal Coding Browser Incompatibility Issue: HELP! graphCHICdesigns Coding Forum 3 10-10-2009 10:26 PM
Small Opera 10.0 html coding issue Bruce AaLee Coding Forum 3 09-06-2009 02:48 PM
Wordpress Issue phillipmarlow Blogging Forum 3 09-03-2009 01:17 AM
How to fix www issue in Wordpress? sniperhiga Blogging Forum 1 05-03-2007 06:12 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2014 Escalate Media




Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.