Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-05-2010, 11:23 PM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Issue with Feedburner Feeds Need Help

Hi,

Its been over a month and I couldn't figure it out why my feedburner feeds showing rwo images? it should show only the small image which is in the post, but where this big image coming from and why? http://feeds.feedburner.com/SeoTipsandServices , This is very complicated I have to remove image either from post or thumbnail to fix it, but I want to keep the image and show on both thumbnail and post and normally on feeds!? What should I do to fix it? Thank you for reading I will appreciate any help!
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:43 AM
ArtphotoasiA's Avatar
ArtphotoasiA ArtphotoasiA is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 12-07-09
Location: Italy
Posts: 246
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I know maybe I look newby but can exactly explain what is feedburner for?

I have a blog but why I should need ?
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:48 AM
drmike's Avatar
drmike drmike is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,745
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightcrawler View Post
Its been over a month and I couldn't figure it out why my feedburner feeds showing rwo images? it should show only the small image which is in the post, but where this big image coming from and why?
Can you turn off feedburner so we can see the original feed, please? Without seeing the original feed, all we can do is make guesses.
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:08 AM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmike View Post
Can you turn off feedburner so we can see the original feed, please? Without seeing the original feed, all we can do is make guesses.
Are you talking about this original feed
Code:
http://www.seotips-services.com/feed/
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:17 AM
DigitalAlien's Avatar
DigitalAlien DigitalAlien is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-11-09
Posts: 2,301
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Look within the first four lines of the <content:encoded> section. There it has the code to show two different images. The first is the normal size I believe and the second is smaller.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:24 AM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberWizard View Post
Look within the first four lines of the <content:encoded> section. There it has the code to show two different images. The first is the normal size I believe and the second is smaller.
Thank you for sorting it out, how do I fix it? I mean where do I find <content:encoded> code?

Last edited by nightcrawler; 03-06-2010 at 11:35 AM.
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:04 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,710
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtphotoasiA View Post
I know maybe I look newby but can exactly explain what is feedburner for?

I have a blog but why I should need ?
Feedburner is for tracking how many readers follow your blog via RSS and other stats. If you have any further questions about it (after reading the link provided) please start your own thread over in Blog Promotion.
 
  #8  
Old 03-07-2010, 12:13 AM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Did anyone find out what is the problem and how to fix it? Which file need to be edited.
 
  #9  
Old 03-07-2010, 06:00 AM
drmike's Avatar
drmike drmike is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,745
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well a look at the original feed shows that the image is being added by something that is using a div labeled "post_image_link". That gets displayed first as a full sized image while a thumbnail that leads to the full sized image afterwards.

I'm guessing that's being added by a plugin. You don;t recall which specific plugin is adding in those images, do you? If not, what specific plugs do you have installed and activated?
 
  #10  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:14 AM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmike View Post
Well a look at the original feed shows that the image is being added by something that is using a div labeled "post_image_link". That gets displayed first as a full sized image while a thumbnail that leads to the full sized image afterwards.

I'm guessing that's being added by a plugin. You don;t recall which specific plugin is adding in those images, do you? If not, what specific plugs do you have installed and activated?
I am not using some unsual plugins, although I am using Thesis Theme. Plugins I am using are Akismet, All in one Seo pack, xml sitemap genereator, wordpress stats, and thesis open hook plugin.
 
  #11  
Old 03-07-2010, 12:06 PM
drmike's Avatar
drmike drmike is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,745
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You can try this.

Within your thesis folder, open up /lib/functions/launch.php and take a look for this section:

// Add post images to RSS feed
add_filter('the_content', 'thesis_add_image_to_feed');

Add the two slash marks in front of the second line so it looks like this:

// Add post images to RSS feed
//add_filter('the_content', 'thesis_add_image_to_feed');

That should stop the extra images.

And don;t ask me where I got a copy of thesis from. :whistle:

Hope this helps,
-drmike
 
  #12  
Old 03-07-2010, 01:34 PM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmike View Post
You can try this.

Within your thesis folder, open up /lib/functions/launch.php and take a look for this section:

// Add post images to RSS feed
add_filter('the_content', 'thesis_add_image_to_feed');

Add the two slash marks in front of the second line so it looks like this:

// Add post images to RSS feed
//add_filter('the_content', 'thesis_add_image_to_feed');
Thank you for looking into it, but still it didn't fix it. I am amazed so far from 1 month no one able to find out how to fix it on different forums.

P.S: I'll wait also because sometimes feeds are updated after few hours, so this thing might work. II hope and pray...
 
  #13  
Old 03-07-2010, 04:33 PM
drmike's Avatar
drmike drmike is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,745
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightcrawler View Post
I am amazed so far from 1 month no one able to find out how to fix it on different forums.
Thanks for that response. Considering I've gone out of my way to find the theme from *other* sources and spent my time looking through the code for where the image is added in, I feel grateful with your response.

Considering that it's thesis and a theme that you pay for, why aren't you asking the developer? They should be supporting their product.

Last edited by drmike; 03-07-2010 at 04:36 PM.
 
  #14  
Old 03-07-2010, 11:48 PM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmike View Post
Thanks for that response. Considering I've gone out of my way to find the theme from *other* sources and spent my time looking through the code for where the image is added in, I feel grateful with your response.

Considering that it's thesis and a theme that you pay for, why aren't you asking the developer? They should be supporting their product.
The thesis version I am using; to be honest I got from my client, I have to set him a wordpress blog and the thesis theme along with header. He bought the developer version and he said if you do good I'll give you a copy of it which is a developer version I guess and he paid me in form of thesis theme and the login info for support forum is with him... That is the whole thing (Darn! I don't want to expose it) and I cannot buy thesis because no Paypal supported here, I also made unverfied account to buy thesis but you know that is why looking for this help... I can fix small things but not big things as expert like you are here its worth asking here.... Thanks

P.S: So wht is the problem anyway with feeds?

Last edited by nightcrawler; 03-07-2010 at 11:55 PM.
 
  #15  
Old 03-15-2010, 03:32 AM
nightcrawler's Avatar
nightcrawler nightcrawler is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Love in Dubai
Posts: 672
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmike View Post
You can try this.

Within your thesis folder, open up /lib/functions/launch.php and take a look for this section:

// Add post images to RSS feed
add_filter('the_content', 'thesis_add_image_to_feed');

Add the two slash marks in front of the second line so it looks like this:

// Add post images to RSS feed
//add_filter('the_content', 'thesis_add_image_to_feed');

That should stop the extra images.

And don;t ask me where I got a copy of thesis from. :whistle:

Hope this helps,
-drmike
Thanks I have checked my feed yesterday it worked well... Many thanks

P.S: Thread can be closed now! Thanks everyone
 
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coding Issue (Wordpress) Error message Stylesheet issue maybe snakeair Coding Forum 4 02-14-2010 01:44 PM
Feedburner? gridsix Blog Promotion 4 12-15-2008 04:45 AM
What is feedburner ? ilu Blogging Forum 7 09-20-2006 02:15 AM
Feedburner and Blogs? manca SEO Forum 5 07-17-2006 07:20 AM
Issue with multiple feeds on the same page I, Brian Coding Forum 9 12-17-2004 08:45 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC