Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:37 AM
anarchojoseph anarchojoseph is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 51
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Question automation of tasks

my site, CouponSupreme.com, is 100% manual. How can I speed up the process a bit by automating tasks? Add new stores, new tags, stuff like that. I know python, html, some php, mysql.. which language would be ideal for this project? I'm thinking php

Of course, nothing matches manual work, but it's so darn time consuming :p to put it into prospective, retailmenot has over 65,000 stores, and I'm sure a lot more tags to boot. It takes average 4-5 minutes per store..

And, yet, I need to also focus on SEO / traffic. But who wants to frequent an incomplete coupon site?

any tips, suggestions?

note - this is a longterm project for me. Not going to be a total retailmenot clone, I want to make it a social networking / coupon site in the future

Last edited by HTMLBasicTutor; 08-12-2010 at 10:32 AM.
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:19 AM
Luxmo's Avatar
Luxmo Luxmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 07-08-10
Location: City of Industry, California
Posts: 36
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Any form of automation to your concept will be detrimental to the quality of content of your site. For example, by creating a robot which scours the net for coupons and stores and adds them to your system would be just about the only way to automate anything...but, remember that unique content should be what you're after...and that's definitely not the way to go about it. If this project really is a long-term project as you say, treat it as such. Do the homework, do the labor, reap the rewards later.

But, there are little things which you could improve or speed-up. Like in your administration, use ajax for content management (example: using slide-out forms to add new data rather than clicking "add" it going to another page with the form; will save at least one page load), minify your code so it loads quicker in browsers, maybe even "bulk" imports for adding content to database tables quickly, etc. Basically, try and make working with your administration interface as easy and painless as possible.

Of course, if you don't care about the quality of your content you can create a robot which scours the net for data to add to the system. I've created a few in the past for clients using PHP.
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:40 AM
anarchojoseph anarchojoseph is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 51
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxmo View Post
Any form of automation to your concept will be detrimental to the quality of content of your site. For example, by creating a robot which scours the net for coupons and stores and adds them to your system would be just about the only way to automate anything...but, remember that unique content should be what you're after...and that's definitely not the way to go about it. If this project really is a long-term project as you say, treat it as such. Do the homework, do the labor, reap the rewards later.

But, there are little things which you could improve or speed-up. Like in your administration, use ajax for content management (example: using slide-out forms to add new data rather than clicking "add" it going to another page with the form; will save at least one page load), minify your code so it loads quicker in browsers, maybe even "bulk" imports for adding content to database tables quickly, etc. Basically, try and make working with your administration interface as easy and painless as possible.

Of course, if you don't care about the quality of your content you can create a robot which scours the net for data to add to the system. I've created a few in the past for clients using PHP.
Thanks a lot. I will be looking into ajax I don't want to mess with the quality, that's for sure. but I would love to use some of your suggestions!
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:49 AM
Luxmo's Avatar
Luxmo Luxmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 07-08-10
Location: City of Industry, California
Posts: 36
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Definitely take a look into:
jQuery
Script.aculo.us (recommend using Effect.toggle with blind effect for sliding data)
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-2010, 12:33 PM
Luxmo's Avatar
Luxmo Luxmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 07-08-10
Location: City of Industry, California
Posts: 36
iTrader: 0 / 0%
And definitely make a submit form so businesses can submit their coupons! I was about to add some of our (Luxmo.com) coupons but there's no interface for it.
 
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SEO tasks performing list?? Viky SEO Forum 17 01-23-2009 03:11 PM
SEO tasks m42 SEO Forum 33 05-14-2008 12:51 AM
Automatic tasks altyfc Marketing Forum 1 01-04-2004 10:09 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC