Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 02-24-2016, 10:48 AM
Nameless Nameless is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 11-14-15
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Rewriting database tables

I apologize if this post comes across as convoluted. I've been trying to work out how to articulate this for a while.

So I've come across a problem that has been perplexing me for months now.

A few years back I wrote a few scripts for a website back when it was starting up. The script worked fine for the needs of the client and it's users and that pretty much was that.

Five years, many many programmers, and about 50k users later, the scripts I wrote for the site had gone through so many changes and so many new stuff have been added/changes that it has made the feature very slow. When investigating the reason behind the lag, I concluded that it was due to so many indexes that need to be update on each INSERT/UPDATE query -- most in which aren't used as often. Some of these indexes consume more space than the table's data themselves (not sure if this is normal or not).

I've been offered the task of redoing these script which I am more than happy to do. I've learn so much since originally doing them and can implement many new technologies to make it even faster and consume less resources. The problem is, to implement many of these new changes I need to restructure the DB tables themselves. At first, I thought it would be as simple as cloning the tables and making changes to the col names/types, but something odd happened. When rewriting these values, the primary identifier for many of the results changed too! I could just rewrite the scripts and reuse the current tables, but many of the indexes set will not be used anymore which will speed up the new scripts but greatly lag the existing (the old scripts and tables will still be in use while I develop the new).

How would I go by creating new DB tables with the existing information while keeping the primary identifier correct on them?
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 04-13-2016, 07:24 PM
galaxy83's Avatar
galaxy83 galaxy83 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-22-14
Location: localhost:80
Posts: 173
iTrader: 0 / 0%
@Nameless: Greetings!

The are some software that do what you wish for, just google it and you will find. Some are free with limited options, but some are not and they cost between $49 and $200.

Best regards with your project!
 
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
url rewriting in asp.net anushka123 Coding Forum 4 11-19-2014 02:06 AM
URL Rewriting jassicute SEO Forum 1 07-12-2012 12:17 AM
PHP - Adding new tables or new database??? OrlandoInsurance Coding Forum 3 04-24-2012 10:49 PM
WTS: synonyms dictionary database-Idioms database -American Slangs database - yokolucu Content 0 02-25-2010 12:53 PM
WTS: 1000 Synonym Database for Rewriting Omgoogle Content 0 01-11-2010 07:21 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC