Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 07-19-2016, 04:59 PM
chrisjchrisj chrisjchrisj is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-05-10
Posts: 77
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hiding a "Channel", but not a "Category"

In a php video-web-script that I'm using, I modified the (video)Upload Form by hiding the select-a-channel drop-down choices, in the Form, essentially like this:

Code:
<li><input type="hidden" name="channel" value="1"/></li>
(so, that the Channel is pre-determined for the uploader/user).

But, when the Channel is hidden like that, the next field box(sub-categories) in the Form, shows no choices. Apparently, in this Upload Form a Channel choice is required in order to see the sub-category choices.

So, I'm trying to figure out a way to hide the channel, but somehow let the Form know that Channel has been chosen, so that the sub-category drop-down choices are available for choosing, and proceeding.

Here's the code without the hidden Channel:

Code:
<li style="width:240px; text-align:right;"><strong>[var.lang_select_channel]:</strong></li> <li style="width:400px; text-align:left;"> <select class="upload-video-form-input" style="width:160px;" size="1" name="channel" onchange="javascript:ahahscript.ahah('[var.base_url]/uploader.php?sub_cat='+ document.form_upload.channel.value, 'sub_change', '', 'GET', '', this);"> &nbsp;[var.fields_all;htmlconv=no]</select>&nbsp;([var.lang_select_one])</li> <li style="width:240px; text-align:right">&nbsp;</li> <li style="width:380px" class="font5_14"><strong>[var.lang_sub_categories]</strong></li> <li style="width:240px; text-align:right"><strong>[var.lang_sub_cat]:&nbsp;</strong></li> <li style="width:400px; text-align:left;" id="sub_change"><select class="upload-video-form-input" style="width:160px;" size="1" name="sub_cat"></select>&nbsp;([var.lang_optional])</li>
Any ideas regarding "hide the channel, but somehow let the Form know that Channel has been chosen, so that the sub-category drop-down choices are available for choosing" will be greatly appreciated.
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 07-20-2016, 01:46 AM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,008
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Without spending more time than I have right now all I can do is point your in the right direction.


In the PHP portion of the script you will need to assign a value to the variable channel.

If you want it to work both ways you will need to do that with an IF() statement. Psuedo php: If this condition is met channel== else channel == input from the form.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: PR2+ Website with "Ask" "Answer" "Question" in domain. buyerdomain Websites 0 02-17-2011 11:57 PM
<input type="image" src="login_button.png" name="login" /> Error in IE !! HELP 2939195631902 Coding Forum 9 02-20-2009 09:43 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC