Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:17 PM
Gannyaa's Avatar
Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-07-06
Location: Nelson
Posts: 62
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Mysites works fine except in IE7 - Help!

Mysites works fine except in IE7

I've just been coding now for what about 3 months, and my webpages all were working, i mean rendering just fine.

Then a friend of mine tells me to check out IE7.

NOW none of my sites work in IE7 !! What's with IE7 ? Why isn't it backward compatible with IE 6? Frustrating....

So how do I code for IE 7? in CSS?

my website is:
http://haidavision.no-ip.info

and
http://www.crescentbeachhouse.ca

None of it works in IE7 even though I've been using templates.

Help
__________________
Todd
(Gannyaa)
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:30 PM
thentavius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: 11-19-06
Posts: 61
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Microsoft has "graciously" offered us all a guide on re-doing our sites to be sure the CSS is compatible with IE7:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...css_compat.asp
__________________
Plastic Pumpkin Designs
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2007, 09:52 PM
Gannyaa's Avatar
Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-07-06
Location: Nelson
Posts: 62
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Really, Thanks for the guide ... I'll have to look at it ... soon...
But really, Microsoft expects every webmaster to recode their websites?
with the expectation that webmaster's change their pages frequently anyways... ?
Lot's of extra work ... Where's MS leading us now?
__________________
Todd
(Gannyaa)
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2007, 12:18 PM
Izzmo's Avatar
v7n Mentor
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 11-01-03
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,356
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Well, if you look at how IE7 renders CSS now, it is correct. IE6 and below rendered CSS like tables. If you had a div within a div and the inner div was bigger than the parent div, the parent div would grow. Which is wrong. It should not grow, but instead, the inner div should should overflow outside the parent box. IE7 has corrected this problem.
__________________
Izzmo
Coding Guru Extraordinaire
ZeroWeb Hosting & Design - Customizable hosting for every type of user!
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:14 PM
Taltos's Avatar
v7n Mentor
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 11-22-06
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,797
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Izzmo is right on the money. IE6 and earlier versions were not standards compliant. They did their own thing the way they thought it should be done rather than use the standards put out that most other browsers abided by.

Now Microsoft has figured out that being standards compliant would be a good thing. You did the same thing that I did and probably most of the rest of us that learned on our own did. Until recently 97+ % of the browsers out there were IE. You design your first sites to work in IE. If your site wasn't a computer related site, almost everyone that got to your site saw it perfectly.

Things are changing now and more people are using other browsers. IE still dominates (no matter how much lots of techies would like it to be different) and Microsoft has gotten with the standards finally.

Browser history lesson over
Stop lecture mode....
Shutdown....
__________________
Experimenting
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:46 PM
thentavius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: 11-19-06
Posts: 61
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Really, Thanks for the guide ... I'll have to look at it ... soon...
But really, Microsoft expects every webmaster to recode their websites?
with the expectation that webmaster's change their pages frequently anyways... ?
Lot's of extra work ... Where's MS leading us now?
That's what I thought. Pretty lame, huh?

And as others have said, it seems the new IE uses CSS correctly, so anything we did in the past to "make" CSS work in IE 6 or earlier has to be undone.

Whooo.
__________________
Plastic Pumpkin Designs
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:51 PM
Gannyaa's Avatar
Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-07-06
Location: Nelson
Posts: 62
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well I checked the spec's and wasn't lookin forward to another pot of coffee and an all nighter but I had access to IE7 today and played around for maybe 1/2 an hour and presto.... two simple edits...

I changed in the html { } and body { } tags,
from
height : 100%
to
height: auto

and that was it!

What a load that's taken off my mind....

Taltos you are right on. Even though in the past MicroSoft tends to be different (VBscript) and all, they are (now seemingly) conforming too everyone's else's standards too... which is great....

Thanks guys.... that guide helped too...

<!--[IF gte IE 6]
check out my fixes: http://crescentbeachhouse.ca
[end if]-->
__________________
Todd
(Gannyaa)

Last edited by Gannyaa; 01-05-2007 at 07:53 PM. Reason: left out url with fix
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2007, 11:21 AM
Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 01-07-04
Location: Welsh Borderland, Shropshire, UK
Posts: 85
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I've only recently discovered these problems since I'm still using Win98se and do all my testing with Firefox IE6 & Opera. After an initial panic I seem to have fixed problems by inserting height:100% in body and min-height:100% in the containing div.

Seems from above all I needed to do was to add height:auto for body instead.

I cannot install IE7 on Win98se so does anyone know if the latest Firefox Extension IETab would apply IE7 CSS or would it only apply my installed IE6 characteristics?

Since I don't try and keep up with MS software I have never needed to upgrade my hardware - might manage to leave out XP altogether ;-)
__________________
Paul - Archaeological|Historical
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:48 PM
Gannyaa's Avatar
Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-07-06
Location: Nelson
Posts: 62
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
I've only recently discovered these problems since I'm still using Win98se and do all my testing with Firefox IE6 & Opera. After an initial panic I seem to have fixed problems by inserting height:100% in body and min-height:100% in the containing div.
I only recently discovered them myself.
But thanks to Thentavius who threw in the link for microsoft's fixes.

The <!--[IF lte IE 6] works because IE 7 won't read the code.
IE7 renders everything great just like the other browsers (opera firefox, etc that are Moz 5. compatible)
if the IE 5 & 6 code is if'd out, so if you tell IE 7 not to use the IE 5 hacks it won't and the page renders fine.

Am I right?
__________________
Todd
(Gannyaa)
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:35 PM
thentavius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: 11-19-06
Posts: 61
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Your site looks great in IE 6, 7, and Firefox 2.0 over here. I like the design! Very inviting.
__________________
Plastic Pumpkin Designs
 
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:41 PM
Arenlor's Avatar
Senior Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 01-02-07
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 191
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Opera shows up good, as does mini mode (for mobiles and the like)
__________________
Need a page made? Draw a diagram, I suggest using Paint, show the picture with your post, it'll help a lot more than you think. Other questions? Draw a diagram for that too!
 
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2007, 04:38 AM
digiweb's Avatar
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-07-06
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 722
iTrader: 1 / 100%
F'ing Microsoft
 
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2007, 08:44 PM
Gannyaa's Avatar
Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-07-06
Location: Nelson
Posts: 62
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks Arenlor for the test in mini-mode.... for mobiles. never thought to check it that way.
__________________
Todd
(Gannyaa)
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site Broken In IE, Fine In FF. Google Penalized? ggmedia Google Forum 4 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
2007 Chelsea International Fine Art Competition AgoraGallery Graphic Design Forum 0 01-28-2007 10:19 AM
How to make fine table borders for Firefox hhheng Web Design Lobby 1 10-24-2006 08:50 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2014 Escalate Media




Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.