Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2007, 11:44 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 03-12-07
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 10
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Question CSS: menu disappears behind flash elements

Hi,

I got such great help here with my last coding problem, so I've got a new problem for you! :-)

http://www.jonasopsal.no/test/index.php?page=home

I want to use a CSS dropdown menu that I have customized slightly (colours mostly) from the stylesheet that came with the CMS I use. It works great, but I have a problem with flash elements that I want to use.

If you put your mouse over "Test" in the menu, you will see the dropdown disappear behind the flash gallery (which by the way, is a sample from another website I'm building so the size and colours are all wrong... :-).

Now... Is there a way to force the CSS to the front, or the flash to the back?

The CSS for the menu can be found here:
http://www.jonasopsal.no/test/uploads/stylesheet.txt

Thanks for any help!

Jonas
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2007, 03:20 PM
StupidScript's Avatar
Senior Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 09-22-06
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Welcome to the forums, Jonas!

I've never seen Flash relinquish the stage to another player. Even using CSS tricks such as z-index doesn't work ... Flash likes it on top and doggone it, it will stay there! Best advice I'd give is to either (1) make your menus part of the Flash file or (b) move them so they don't git all up in Flash's face. Sorry!
__________________
James Butler

Where would we be without rhetorical questions?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:13 PM
StupidScript's Avatar
Senior Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 09-22-06
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Okey doke ... From Achernar at another forum*:
Quote:
You have to add a parameter to make the flash object "transparent". This allows elements floating in front to be visible.

Add (for IE):
Code:
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
and (for other browsers) add the attribute:
Code:
wmode="transparent"
to the <embed> tag.
Code:
<object> <param name="movie" value="http://....swf"> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"> <embed wmode="transparent" src="http://....swf"> </object>
Please let us know if this works for your situation!

*(Mod: Please PM me for the forum link, if you like ...)
__________________
James Butler

Where would we be without rhetorical questions?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2007, 02:38 AM
RNK1.com's Avatar
Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 05-30-07
Posts: 54
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I tried what your suggested and it didn't work well why
__________________
RNK1.com Your website position check tool
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:50 AM
StupidScript's Avatar
Senior Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 09-22-06
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I just tested it in both FF2 and IE6 and it works fine for me. Here's the exact code I tested, modified from that posted by Achernar. It doesn't matter if the DIV element is in the code before or after the Flash object:
Code:
<html> <head> <script> var isvis=0; function showDiv(div) { thisdiv=document.getElementById(div); if (isvis) { disp="none";isvis=0; } else { disp="block";isvis=1; } thisdiv.style.display=disp; } </script> <body> <a href="javascript:void showDiv('thadiv')">Show DIV</a><br /> <div id="thadiv" style="position:absolute; top:20px; left:20px; display:none;"> <a style="color:red;" href="#">Click here text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text</a> </div> <object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" viewastext="" height="89" width="238"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.dargaud.fr/media/tra_media_178.swf"> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"> <embed wmode="transparent" src="http://www.dargaud.fr/media/tra_media_178.swf" height="89" width="238"> </object> </body> </html>
__________________
James Butler

Where would we be without rhetorical questions?

Last edited by StupidScript; 05-31-2007 at 10:11 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2007, 02:14 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 03-12-07
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 10
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Perfect! It works great for my use. Thanks a bunch! :-)

Jonas
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dreamweaver - cant link flash menu to target frames! sebpetch Coding Forum 0 09-15-2006 03:14 PM
why is my menu bar behind my flash? drew68 Web Usability 14 08-25-2006 01:47 AM
Flash drop down menu dreamweaver 8 spookpis Web Design Lobby 1 07-11-2006 05:37 AM
DHTML Menu slide menu how to make it relative to table ajay201975 Web Design Lobby 0 05-25-2004 09:54 AM
Flash navigation menu white-raven Graphic Design Forum 1 01-10-2004 10:02 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2014 Escalate Media




Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.