Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:56 AM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Split a page in 2 halfs and call it with an iframe

I have a little problem here. Not good at all with html or anything..
I want to split a page in one menu and one mainpage (like this.
The problem is that I have to call that html-document with one iframe-row in my template.

Anyone understand what I want, and can help me ?
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:52 PM
Boogle's Avatar
Boogle Boogle is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-03-07
Location: England
Posts: 649
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I don't fully understand but maybe if you posted your current HTML I could try to help?

Boog's
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2007, 02:01 PM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hard to describe it.
I have a template bit that has to put out the thing I linked to (the volleyball site).

The code I use today looks like this

Code:
<div style="text-align:center"> <IFRAME NAME="menu" width="22%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/menu.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME> <IFRAME NAME="Spotguide" width="57%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/spot.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME> </div>
Now I have created 2 html-files.
One with the menu, and one with the map, and that works pretty well. Doesn't look 100% but it works.

What I want is a way to just have one html-file with both map and menu (aligning the menu to the left and map to the right), and then call that from the template somehow. When doing this I can use a feature where I press a link, and a marker pops up.
Maybe I could create everything in the template-bit, but I want to use an external file as it's much easier to edit. Especially as it will big pretty much code in it eventually.

Hope it makes things a bit clearer...
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2007, 02:11 PM
kristeejo's Avatar
kristeejo kristeejo is offline
xo mudslide
 
Join Date: 05-03-04
Posts: 7,762
iTrader: 2 / 100%
why in the world would you want to put your nav in a frame?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2007, 03:42 PM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I don't have to. It's just how it looks today.
Any suggestions ?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:17 PM
kristeejo's Avatar
kristeejo kristeejo is offline
xo mudslide
 
Join Date: 05-03-04
Posts: 7,762
iTrader: 2 / 100%
I would suggest staying far away from a framed page. I would stick to a text navigation.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:43 AM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well, that's ok. Everything is ready, just don't know how to do it :/
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:55 AM
Boogle's Avatar
Boogle Boogle is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-03-07
Location: England
Posts: 649
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I think you would need the source of the two to become one. So in effect, the source needs to be reworked? I can't think why you would do this anyway, you should just make your own menu down the left and then call your map in a frame to the left, and you could have both elements contained within one div still... I'm not full acquainted with iframes i tend to stay away.

Could you make your own menu or get a hold of the HTML for the one that's there? if so then it's easily done.

Boog's
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2007, 01:03 AM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I have the code. One code for the menu, and one for the map..
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-12-2007, 01:12 AM
Boogle's Avatar
Boogle Boogle is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-03-07
Location: England
Posts: 649
iTrader: 0 / 0%
OK then, Your code from before:

Quote:
<div style="text-align:center">
<IFRAME NAME="menu" width="22%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/menu.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME>
<IFRAME NAME="Spotguide" width="57%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/spot.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME>
</div>
now i'd do something like:
Code:
<div id="container"> <div id="menuContainer"> ALL YOUR HTML CODE FOR THE MENU </div> <div id="frameContainer"> <IFRAME NAME="Spotguide" width="57%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/spot.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME> </div> </div>
CSS:
Code:
#container { text-align:center; } #menuContainer { width:22%; height:780px; } #frameContainer { width:57%; height:780px; }
I think that's what you're looking for but i might be barking up the wrong tree here!

Boog's
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:28 AM
Jesse Vlasveld Jesse Vlasveld is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-16-07
Location: Assen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,360
iTrader: 1 / 100%
My eyes, they are burning.

No seriously they are. Follow kristeejo's advice and stay away from frames. They are the devil.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:43 AM
Boogle's Avatar
Boogle Boogle is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-03-07
Location: England
Posts: 649
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
My eyes, they are burning.

No seriously they are. Follow kristeejo's advice and stay away from frames. They are the devil.
I agree and don't use them but Joakim wants them i think... I would encourage Joakim to do it all CSS/HTML and call the map through good Imap Keys. But then I think he/she doesn't know too much HTML/CSS... We need your response Joakim to help you more!

Boog's
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:55 AM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I don't want them...I just need a good solution to my problem. I'm open for everything, but as you said, my skills are very limited, so I will need all help I can get.

The thing is that i use a forum-solution (IPB) and I've created a page there to show my map/navi. That page is made by a template-html that I've made, and all code is changed within IPB. The whole bit looks like this now:

Code:
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" /> <title>Spotguide</title> <meta name="gmapkey" content="ABQIAAAA92i-2RJFti1VV0pkf1wgURTsQgdf7xav8DhtkeAL0AKbudy5NxSAFVsS4FyUr54yLZQU1rdPOrnBWw" /> <script src="/spotguide/gmapez-2.4.js" type="text/javascript"></script> <script language="JavaScript"> </script> <div class="borderwrap"> <div class="maintitle"><{CAT_IMG}> Spotguide</div> <table class='ipbtable' cellspacing="1"> <tr> <th>v2</a></th> </tr> <tr> <td class="row2"> <!-- CONTENT --> <div style="text-align:center"> <IFRAME NAME="menu" width="22%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/menu.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME> <IFRAME NAME="Spotguide" width="57%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/spot.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME> </div> <!-- END CONTENT --> </td> </tr> <tr> <td style="padding: 3px; height: 0px;" class="catend"></td> </tr> </table> </div>
This creates the page with menu.html to the left and spot.html to the right. Now, is Boogles code correct to use here ? All visible code is added between the Content-tags (obviously ).
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2007, 04:33 AM
sleepyhead's Avatar
sleepyhead sleepyhead is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-06-07
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 478
iTrader: 0 / 0%
<div>
<IFRAME NAME="name" width="25%" height="100%" SRC="left.html"></IFRAME>
<IFRAME NAME="Spotguide" width="*" height="100%" SRC="right.html"></IFRAME>
</div>

thats it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-12-2007, 04:45 AM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanx, but that's pretty much what I have now. I want to get rid of the frames if that is possible.
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:09 AM
Joakim Joakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-03
Location: Sweden
Posts: 113
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogle View Post
OK then, Your code from before:



now i'd do something like:
Code:
<div id="container"> <div id="menuContainer"> ALL YOUR HTML CODE FOR THE MENU </div> <div id="frameContainer"> <IFRAME NAME="Spotguide" width="57%" height="780" SRC="http://www.homepage.com/spot.html" frameborder=0></IFRAME> </div> </div>
CSS:
Code:
#container { text-align:center; } #menuContainer { width:22%; height:780px; } #frameContainer { width:57%; height:780px; }
I think that's what you're looking for but i might be barking up the wrong tree here!

Boog's
Your code didn't quite work. The map went up to the left and the menu right beneath it...

Isn't there a way to just call one file where I have both map and meny ? I think I need that to get the link-popups to work.
 
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:40 AM
Boogle's Avatar
Boogle Boogle is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-03-07
Location: England
Posts: 649
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You iwll have to wrap them and float them like so:

Code:
#container { text-align:center; } #menuContainer { width:22%; height:780px; float:left; } #frameContainer { width:57%; height:780px; float:right; }
But if i'm being honest, this is going the wrong direction now. You need to experiment with the code you have and try to get it integrated properly into a page.

If you post your HTML for the menu i will get it working for you...

Boog's
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:50 AM
kos's Avatar
kos kos is offline
Coding Tiger
 
Join Date: 04-13-07
Location: .ro
Posts: 4,029
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Why not using AJAX ?

You already have the content pages so all you need is a very simple script and you won't be needing iframes anymore...
 
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:52 AM
Boogle's Avatar
Boogle Boogle is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 09-03-07
Location: England
Posts: 649
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Costin Trifan View Post
Why not using AJAX ?

You already have the content pages so all you need is a very simple script and you won't be needing iframes anymore...
I'm not sure is Joakim knows much about HTML/CSS never mind AJAX? Joakim would you want to use AJAX? I've been a little confused through the whole of this one!
 
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:00 AM
kos's Avatar
kos kos is offline
Coding Tiger
 
Join Date: 04-13-07
Location: .ro
Posts: 4,029
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
[...]I'm open for everything, but as you said, my skills are very limited, so I will need all help I can get.

The thing is that i use a forum-solution (IPB) and I've created a page there to show my map/navi. That page is made by a template-html that I've made, [...]
Well, It looks to me that he pretty much knows HTML

Although your example would work just fine, Ajax is the alternative...and you can find lots of ajax scripts and tutorials out there (and I already have a thread in here showing how to use ajax to request a file's content) but anyway... he's the one to decide what's best for him.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iframe just in area that i wanted in the middle of page basketmen Coding Forum 3 12-02-2007 06:22 AM
calling a function in parent page through iframe? wordlinkz Web Design Lobby 0 08-13-2007 12:12 PM
Does text inside IFrame elements affect Google page ranking? rjohnson Google Forum 4 11-15-2003 11:04 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC