Webmaster Forum

Ezilon Directory   Keyword Research Tool   V7N Directory
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Forum Lobby > Computers & Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Computers & Internet For all those computer related discussions.

Reply
 
LinkBack (2) Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2006, 01:01 AM   2 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)
nWo
Member
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 30
iTrader: 0 / 0%
nWo is liked by many
Question Why are they Scanning my site?

Hi

I was just checking my websites usage statistics the other day
and i came a cross this not once but under 3 ip address with
29,000 hits in one hour which is funny coz this site never gets
that in a month.

(1) 21582 63.87% 21582 67.33% 2445 0.58% 0 0.00% 130.160.92.64.reverse.layeredtech.com

(6) 587 1.74% 587 1.83% 82 0% 0 0.00% 218.254.36.72.reverse.layeredtech.com

(15) 201 0.59% 201 0.63% 23 0.01% 0 0.00% 82.37.21.72.reverse.layeredtech.com


If layeredtech.com is just a webhost why are they scanning my
website, can anyone help below are two photo caps of my statistics
with the IP Address up top not crossed out, is this some kind of DOS
attack.

Thanks if you can help!
Attached Thumbnails
why-they-scanning-my-site-dosattack.jpg  why-they-scanning-my-site-totalreferrers.jpg  
__________________
Digital Nasties - Underground Horror

[+ [ ] ::]

Last edited by nWo : 07-27-2006 at 01:05 AM.
nWo is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
SEO Hosting by HostGator  Advertise Here  Buy Blog Links
Old 07-27-2006, 03:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 07-20-06
Location: Belgium
Posts: 11
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

sgthayes is liked by many
I did some searching on google and this is what I came up with :

It's probably not meant as a DOS attack but rather a scraper and/or comment spammer and/or referer spammer bot. It is probably a client hosted by Layeredtech. A lot of people seem to be having problems with this. See this, this, this, this and this.

It would be best to block all layeredtech ip's in your firewall and send all the info to abuse@layeredtech.com. But I'll doubt they'll do anything about it seeing all the stuff posted about them all over the net.
sgthayes is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 07:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 07-27-06
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

willmacc is liked by many
Layered Technologies, optonline, sympatico, and blueyonder.co.uk have a LOT of known scrapers. All of the above, I have blocked access to any of my sites.
Layered Technolgies is the worse though. Sympatico is probably the second, optonline next, and then blueyonder.

I don't believe they are scanning, more like scraping.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nWo
Hi

I was just checking my websites usage statistics the other day
and i came a cross this not once but under 3 ip address with
29,000 hits in one hour which is funny coz this site never gets
that in a month.

(1) 21582 63.87% 21582 67.33% 2445 0.58% 0 0.00% 130.160.92.64.reverse.layeredtech.com

(6) 587 1.74% 587 1.83% 82 0% 0 0.00% 218.254.36.72.reverse.layeredtech.com

(15) 201 0.59% 201 0.63% 23 0.01% 0 0.00% 82.37.21.72.reverse.layeredtech.com


If layeredtech.com is just a webhost why are they scanning my
website, can anyone help below are two photo caps of my statistics
with the IP Address up top not crossed out, is this some kind of DOS
attack.

Thanks if you can help!
willmacc is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
nWo
Member
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 30
iTrader: 0 / 0%
nWo is liked by many
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgthayes
I did some searching on google and this is what I came up with :

It's probably not meant as a DOS attack but rather a scraper and/or comment spammer and/or referer spammer bot. It is probably a client hosted by Layeredtech. A lot of people seem to be having problems with this. See this, this, this, this and this.

It would be best to block all layeredtech ip's in your firewall and send all the info to abuse@layeredtech.com. But I'll doubt they'll do anything about it seeing all the stuff posted about them all over the net.
Hi, thanks for the replys i banned the ip address but i check again and a
new IP shows up pic below, could anyone be planing a attack on my site
because i been getting spam with made up names with my domains address on them and is scraping bad (or is it something yahoo dose to database domains), because the DNS on my hostes site been acting funny for the last few days.
Attached Thumbnails
why-they-scanning-my-site-snap4.jpg  
__________________
Digital Nasties - Underground Horror

[+ [ ] ::]
nWo is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 07-27-06
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

willmacc is liked by many
The 208 IPs are the McColo group. Another one that has tons of scrapers coming from it.
There their information:
NetRange: 208.66.192.0 - 208.66.195.255
CIDR: 208.66.192.0/22
NetName: MCCOLO
NetHandle: NET-208-66-192-0-1
Parent: NET-208-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS01.MCCOLO.COM
NameServer: NS02.MCCOLO.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2006-04-27
Updated: 2006-06-07

Another one that has been banned from my sites..


Quote:
Originally Posted by nWo
Hi, thanks for the replys i banned the ip address but i check again and a
new IP shows up pic below, could anyone be planing a attack on my site
because i been getting spam with made up names with my domains address on them and is scraping bad (or is it something yahoo dose to database domains), because the DNS on my hostes site been acting funny for the last few days.
willmacc is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 11:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 08-17-06
Location: Stillwater, Oklahoma
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

LinksAndTraffic is liked by many
Quote:
Originally Posted by willmacc
The 208 IPs are the McColo group. Another one that has tons of scrapers coming from it.
There their information:
NetRange: 208.66.192.0 - 208.66.195.255
CIDR: 208.66.192.0/22

Another one that has been banned from my sites..

You really need to ban the whole 0-25 block as their spiders are rotating between ip's. This is the block I have banned currently:

deny from 208.66.195.0
deny from 208.66.195.1
deny from 208.66.195.2
deny from 208.66.195.3
deny from 208.66.195.4
deny from 208.66.195.5
deny from 208.66.195.6
deny from 208.66.195.7
deny from 208.66.195.8
deny from 208.66.195.9
deny from 208.66.195.10
deny from 208.66.195.11
deny from 208.66.195.12
deny from 208.66.195.13
deny from 208.66.195.14
deny from 208.66.195.15
deny from 208.66.195.16
deny from 208.66.195.17
deny from 208.66.195.18
deny from 208.66.195.19
deny from 208.66.195.20
deny from 208.66.195.21
deny from 208.66.195.22
deny from 208.66.195.23
deny from 208.66.195.24
deny from 208.66.195.25
LinksAndTraffic is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 12:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 07-27-06
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

willmacc is liked by many
That would be 208.66.192.0/22.
Only need to put an htaccess entry of:
deny from 208.66.192.0/22

That covers the whole block and anything else out of the ip range of 208.66.192.0 - 208.66.195.255. That's why I posted the CIDR info.
Banning the netrange, it doesn't matter how they rotate the ip's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinksAndTraffic
You really need to ban the whole 0-25 block as their spiders are rotating between ip's. This is the block I have banned currently:

deny from 208.66.195.0
deny from 208.66.195.1
deny from 208.66.195.2
deny from 208.66.195.3
deny from 208.66.195.4
deny from 208.66.195.5
deny from 208.66.195.6
deny from 208.66.195.7
deny from 208.66.195.8
deny from 208.66.195.9
deny from 208.66.195.10
deny from 208.66.195.11
deny from 208.66.195.12
deny from 208.66.195.13
deny from 208.66.195.14
deny from 208.66.195.15
deny from 208.66.195.16
deny from 208.66.195.17
deny from 208.66.195.18
deny from 208.66.195.19
deny from 208.66.195.20
deny from 208.66.195.21
deny from 208.66.195.22
deny from 208.66.195.23
deny from 208.66.195.24
deny from 208.66.195.25
willmacc is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 08-19-06
Posts: 145
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

autoecart is on the right pathautoecart is on the right pathautoecart is on the right path
they are probably looking for a comment section, free link exchange, or email addresses.
autoecart is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Forum Lobby > Computers & Internet

Reply


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.v7n.com/forums/computers-internet/34380-why-they-scanning-my-site.html
Posted By For Type Date
Spamhuntress » Bots This thread Refback 10-12-2006 05:20 AM
Overclockers UK Forums - Avast This thread Refback 10-09-2006 04:09 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsor Links
Get exposure! Get exposure! Find Scripts Web Hosting Directory Get exposure! SEO Blog


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:48 PM.
© Copyright 2008 V7 Inc


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.