Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum > Dedicated Servers

Dedicated Servers Dedicated server help.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
Old 10-05-2010, 01:56 PM

Dedicated Server questions

Hello v7n!
I am a web administrator at Stanceworks.com. Currently we rent a server from Siteground.com the specs are Single Xeon E3110 3.0 GHz, 4gb Ram, 10 TB Traffic, 500gb HD we pay $219 a month. We are running out of resources, and according the support, they are killing our php scripts etc so our server doesn't crash which is leading to constant 500 Internal Server Errors on our server.

My question is this, we receive almost 30,000 visitors on peak days, after being online for just over a year, so we are growing. What company should we look at for renting a new dedicated server, and what kind of server specifications should I get? I am trying to figure out what the best upgrade path would be.

Bottom line; what server should we upgrade to, and what company is both cheap and reliable?

Old 10-06-2010, 11:38 AM
v7n Mentor
Latest Blog:
None

You need to find out what the bottleneck is, be it memory, CPU or disk activity.

Have your host help you out, or hire a system administrator.

You may be able to prolong using that same server using a combination of internal script caching (WP has lots of cache plugins to choose from), diminishing the number of posts presented per page, letting go of non crucial plugins, installing something like Varnish to cache pages or using nginx to server static content (images etc.). A good RAID solution and/or an upgrade to faster hard drives may also improve i/o performance - that is if disk activity is the main culprit of the situation you're in.

Old 10-06-2010, 11:45 AM
Contributing Member