Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Hosting Forum > Dedicated Servers

Dedicated Servers Dedicated server help.

Closed Thread

Share |
Old 06-18-2011, 06:05 PM
Contributing Member

Why and When should I switch to dedicated servers?

I'm like a total newbie when it comes to dedicated servers and I'm not very sure why I even should bother switching to dedicated servers.

Right now I got a shared hosting account at HostGator and I think they do a pretty good job with the hosting. I'm having the occasional problem but that's not really a big deal to me.

So I was wondering why and when I should switch to dedicated servers.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 06-18-2011, 06:45 PM

Moving up from shared hosting to VPS or dedicated hosting is usually based on a few factors:

How many sites do you have? What type of sites are they? How much traffic do they get?

If you have a small number of static HTML sites that aren't getting a huge amounts of traffic, shared hosting should work fine for you for quite some time. I have a dozen sites, mostly static HTML ones, with reasonable traffic running on shared hosting with no problems at all.

Once you have multiple sites (especially sites run by scripts such as Wordpress, forum software, or a content management system) and are getting a lot of traffic, a move up could be needed. In fact, most shared hosts will insist on it.

Old 06-19-2011, 02:15 AM
Contributing Member

As long as your shared server can take loads of your websites you may continue to use it.
When you are getting a lot of visitors and your sites crush or become slow due to insufficient server resource you should consider switching to a VPS or complete dedicated server.

Old 06-19-2011, 03:05 AM
v7n Mentor

Quote:
So I was wondering why and when I should switch to dedicated servers.
When your traffic/computing power usage levels demand it, or when the site(s) nature demands it.