Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Domain Name Forum

Domain Name Forum Discuss or get help with domain name issues. Ask for suggestions, etc.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2008, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
StarLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,785
iTrader: 0 / 0%
StarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest order
Send a message via MSN to StarLab Send a message via Yahoo to StarLab
Domain Name Scam...

Greetings...

Over the last couple days, 2 of my clients received the following emails from a company in Asia claiming a someone is trying to register other extension variations of their domain name.

Below is a copy of those emails. (I have snipped my clients info for privacy reasons)

Quote:
----- Original Message -----
From: Andy.Wang
To: [Snip!]
Sent: Tuesday, May 06, 2008 5:48 AM
Subject: Re: [Snip! (Domain name)]-Intellectual property rights (TO CEO)


Dear CEO,

We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On the May 5, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named "Getriches International Holdings Ltd" wanted to register following Domain names:
[domain snipped].asia
[domain snipped].cn
[domain snipped].com.cn
[domain snipped].com.hk
[domain snipped].com.tw
[domain snipped].hk
[domain snipped].net.cn
[domain snipped].tw
Internet trademark:
[domain snipped]
through our body.

After our initial examination, we found that the Internet trademark and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. We don't know whether you have any relation with them. These days we are dealing with it. Now we have not finished the registration of Getriches International Holdings Ltd yet, If we do not get your company's reply in the next 3 workdays, we will pass the application of Getriches International Holdings Ltd directly, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Andy Wang
Then a second email:

Quote:
----- Original Message -----
From: joanna.kuang
To: [Snip!]
Sent: Tuesday, May 06, 2008 6:10 AM
Subject: Domain Name & Internet keyword Registration


Dear [Snip!]. ,

This is Beijing Erimat Network Information Technology Co., Ltd, domain name registrant in China. A formal application dated on May 5th. from one company called Guangyuan Investment (China) Co., Ltd requested "[Snip!]" as their Chinese top-level domain name (.cn/.hk etc).and internet keyword Due to the possibility of involving your company name or trade mark, we bring this into your attention immediately in view of your priority and IPR according to the registration procedure. Please contact us for protective prior registration of those domains or learning more about it.

Kind Regards
Joanna.Kuang
An investigation revealed that this is a scam. They are trying to sell those additional domains to you with a hefty markup.

Beware!
__________________
Larry Monte
[Torn Elements] - Regaining the Passion for Design
[Gorgeous On Life] - The world from a Cat's point of view.

"Writing is the most fun you can have by yourself!" -Terry Pratchett
StarLab is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Contributing Member
 
Skinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-07
Posts: 587
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Skinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really niceSkinny is just really nice
Yea I would beware . . .sounds very fishy and there are ton's of grammar errors that would lead one to believe this isn't a professional email sent out by someone legit.

I love this line:

Quote:
These days we are dealing with it.
What!?

Skinny
Skinny is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
StarLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,785
iTrader: 0 / 0%
StarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest orderStarLab is a web professional of the highest order
Send a message via MSN to StarLab Send a message via Yahoo to StarLab
Not to mention I visited their site. The domain lookup doesn't even work. lol
__________________
Larry Monte
[Torn Elements] - Regaining the Passion for Design
[Gorgeous On Life] - The world from a Cat's point of view.

"Writing is the most fun you can have by yourself!" -Terry Pratchett
StarLab is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 02:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 04-11-08
Location: Freer, TX
Posts: 21
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

mksouthmayd is a jewel in the roughmksouthmayd is a jewel in the roughmksouthmayd is a jewel in the roughmksouthmayd is a jewel in the roughmksouthmayd is a jewel in the roughmksouthmayd is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to mksouthmayd Send a message via Yahoo to mksouthmayd
Anytime I see something like that, I beware. I have not as yet received any messages like that for my site.
mksouthmayd is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 02:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-12-08
Posts: 11
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

firezz is liked by many
ya.. sounds fishy to me too
firezz is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Domain Name Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scam? RedruM* Webmaster Revenue 3 09-18-2006 12:31 AM
SEO Scam mikey_knowles SEO Forum 6 06-05-2004 05:45 AM


Sponsor Links
Get exposure! Contextual Links V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 AM.
© Copyright 2008 V7 Inc
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2009 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.