Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Forum Lobby

Forum Lobby The off-topic forum.


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2008, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 02-29-08
Posts: 15
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

Starsky is liked by many
FRAUD/SCAM ALERT!!! PLEASE READ!!!

Has anyone heard of hostingmustang.org??? Quite possibly not. The domain is just newly created 26-Feb-2008.

They sent me an email saying they saw my resume on Monster, which was posted there last summer. I am a financial exec in the healthcare industry. Their email stated:


"We saw your resume on www.monster.com, and we invite you to take a look at the Gateway Administrator opportunity currently available with Mustang Web Hosting Company. We are presently hiring qualified people to work in our new Transfer Department, and we think your skills might be a good match for our needs.

Please visit our web site www.hostingmustang.org to learn more about joining our community of talent. You may find the perfect opportunity listed on our Web site right now! If you don’t see anything that suits your needs at present, however, it is a good idea to register anyway because new vacancies open up all the time. We will send you an email as soon as your desired position becomes available. And, if you know anyone else who might be interested in Star Net, please forward them this email so they can check us out too.



Best Regards,
George Cortes george.cortes@hostingmustang.org
Human Resources Manager"

I took a glance, glance mind you, at their website and sent them and email saying what sort of help are you looking for from me. I don't fit anywhere other than they are without a CFO. As I stated I am in the financial arena and I figured maybe they needed some contract CFO guidance or something of that nature...

I received the next canned email after asking what they were looking for:

We are pleased to inform you that your application for the PayFlow
Gateway Administrator position has been favorably reviewed. Your
application materials clearly show that you are ready to thrive in
an entrepreneurial environment and to manage your own operation. In
addition, and equally important, you are ready for success!

You will find all necessary employment documentation enclosed.

How to join us:

1. Read the enclosed job description document and feel free to
respond with any questions you may have.

2. Fill out the employment agreement, sign it, and return it to the
address provided.

Email : george.cortes@hostingmustang.org
or
Fax : +1-888-335-5148

3. We will forward your application documents to our hiring
department.

4. You will receive a letter confirming your employment within 2
days.

5. Thats it! Enjoy being a part of our team and earning money from
the convenience of your own home.

Note:
You may find more information on our Web site, and feel free to
ask any questions about your job duties and salary. My job is to
assist you in managing payments and I will do my utmost to help
you whenever possible.

Naturally I had to revisit their website. For a company selling hosting products and servers there are NO links to signup for anything! I clicked on the BBB link on their page to read about them... the link goes to "newyork-bbb.org" which was created on 24-Feb-2008 and not to "newyork.bbb.org" which is the official BBB site!

After seeing this and knowing that this is someone trying to steal peoples money I received this email:
I wish to begin this letter by thanking you for applying for the job
opening with Mustang Web Hosting. Now you can start the training
course.

TRAINING

Training consists of several test transactions. For this training
course, the employee will need a PayPal account. If the employee
already have Premier or Business PayPal account, he or she should
notify the transfer manager about:

1. PayPal account address (email)
2. PayPal account type (Premier or Business)

If the employee does not have an account, he or she must inform
transfer manager about it.

Note:

The training is free of charge.

Your personal transfer manager is:
Kevin Harris - kevin.harris@mustang-transdep.com

--
George Cortes,
Human Resources Manager


UH HELLO??? MONEY SCAM!!!! I wanted to try and get the word out before anyone goes and does something they may regret later.
Starsky is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Old 03-04-2008, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-12-08
Posts: 524
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

jowsefpirate is on the right pathjowsefpirate is on the right pathjowsefpirate is on the right path
Send a message via Yahoo to jowsefpirate
SCAMMERS are really everywhere! so be careful
jowsefpirate is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Old 03-04-2008, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-06-07
Posts: 366
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

Sama3l. is a jewel in the roughSama3l. is a jewel in the roughSama3l. is a jewel in the roughSama3l. is a jewel in the roughSama3l. is a jewel in the roughSama3l. is a jewel in the rough
damm i just sent 500$ to them aswell...
Sama3l. is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Old 03-04-2008, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
v7n Mentor
 
Atom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-03
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 32,621
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

Atom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest order
Send a message via Yahoo to Atom
Human Resources Manager

Atom is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Old 03-04-2008, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
v7n Mentor
 
Atom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-03
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 32,621
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

Atom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest orderAtom is a web professional of the highest order
Send a message via Yahoo to Atom
Lord have mercy . . .

Atom is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Old 03-04-2008, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Contributing Member
 
cessai's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-31-06
Posts: 723
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

cessai is a jewel in the roughcessai is a jewel in the roughcessai is a jewel in the roughcessai is a jewel in the roughcessai is a jewel in the roughcessai is a jewel in the roughcessai is a jewel in the rough
that's why we have to always be careful
cessai is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Old 03-25-2008, 03:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 03-25-08
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

maestrohostingSCAM is liked by many
maestrohosting-ltd.info scam This is the new URL

My story is identical to the OP's, only the scammers have moved to a new domain name: maestrohosting-ltd.info

I got the same form letters for initial contact and response to my resume/application. BEWARE!
maestrohostingSCAM is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Old 08-06-2009, 08:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
juliensimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-29-08
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,813
iTrader: 0 / 0%
juliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest orderjuliensimon is a web professional of the highest order
we don't need to revive all threads this way....thread closed
juliensimon is online now  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Forum Lobby

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did you read article about software awards scam ? lordspace Marketing Forum 1 09-04-2007 04:36 AM
Can you see the alert? Jason Coding Forum 6 05-15-2005 04:17 PM


Sponsor Links
Get exposure! Contextual Links V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.
© Copyright 2008 V7 Inc
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2009 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.