Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Forum Management

Forum Management Discuss forum management topics including forum software, mods & plugins, developing high quality interactive communities, advertising revenue, forum security, dealing with spam, and more. Ideal for forum owners, administrators, and moderators.

Share |
Old 05-17-2010, 01:02 PM
Contributing Member

Which is the Best Free Software for Forum?

I am a newbie....and currently I have some experience in developing ecommerce websites.

Now I want to have a forum..

What I have seen is, Vbulletin is the most widely used software for forums....but it is very expensive for me...also the addon vbseo is additional $149.....Currently I don't have that much money

Is there any free software available in the market with the same or better functionality so that I can compete with other forums in my niche....

I have only seen PHPBB but I don't know anything about it....

The software should have a support forum, free addons and should be SEO friendly....

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 05-18-2010, 04:02 PM
v7n Mentor

Here are the top three I would recommend after several years of experience: phpBB, MyBB, SMF.

Old 05-18-2010, 05:01 PM

Honestly, the best way to decide which forum software works best for you is to try them all. Set up a web server and a MySQL database and just place each forum software into it's own folder and run them all to see what you feel is best. Since you're going for no cost software, there's no harm in doing it, it will just take a little time.

I've used ProBoards, phpBB and vBulletin, and without a doubt, vBulletin is the best. But, like you said, it's expensive, and if you cannot afford it, you cannot afford it.