Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Forum Management

Forum Management Discuss forum management topics including forum software, mods & plugins, developing high quality interactive communities, advertising revenue, forum security, dealing with spam, and more. Ideal for forum owners, administrators, and moderators.

Share |
Old 03-06-2013, 12:48 PM

Question Trying to improve forum activity

Good day V7N,

My name's Wayne Drake, or as I'm more commonly known online - Masamune.
... I've been running a gaming website for circa five months now and although we had a steady influx of newbies at first, we are more or less down to 10 core members now, and our recent turnover has been piss-poor (for want of a better word). Most of the people there are old friends or friends of friends, and the few outsiders we do attract don't bother to stick around. It's something I'm not trying to concern myself with but at the same time I'd be lying if it wasn't in the back of my mind.

We've promoted the site to friends & acquaintances, we promote all of our content straight on social media networks, we've posted topical & nostalgic subject matter, casual and thought-provoking, and although I am loath to do it, I have sent cold e-mails inviting people to the site. I have exhausted almost every avenue to raise our profile (I refuse the competition route because from past experience they aren't worth the payoff). Admittedly, I had been hoping to upload more reviews for the site, as I have a somewhat 'controversial' style at times which might turn some heads, but I'm a painfully slow writer.