Webmaster Forum


Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Google Forum Discuss Google related issues.

Easy Date   ClickBooth Network   V7N Directory

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2005, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 05-11-04
Posts: 26
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

tozzo is liked by many
Original name for google?

I was searching for domains that have to do with Stipple (the art of using dots to make a drawing) and all the good ones were taken. then I came across this domain name: stippler.com

Type it in a browser and see who comes up. A look at the whois reveals the site as google! Look: http://www.whois.sc/stippler.com

Is this an old parked domain that google never used? or could it be just someone pointing a domain to google? Can people simply point any domain they buy to another person's site?
tozzo is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
SEO Hosting by HostGator  Advertise Here  Buy Blog Links
Old 01-18-2005, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 04-28-04
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 316
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

Dark_Matter is on the right pathDark_Matter is on the right path
I don't think people can point it sucessfully without Google setting up the DNS stuff from their end, so they must know about it.
Dark_Matter is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Inactive
 
cltwebs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-15-03
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 537
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

cltwebs is liked by somebodycltwebs is liked by somebodycltwebs is liked by somebodycltwebs is liked by somebodycltwebs is liked by somebody
Send a message via AIM to cltwebs Send a message via MSN to cltwebs Send a message via Yahoo to cltwebs
It doesn't look like it is owned by google it is registered through godaddy. and google registers their domains throught Alldomains.com, it just looks like someone is redirecting (forwarding) the site to google at the DNS level. Not sure why?
cltwebs is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 04:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 02-26-04
Posts: 34
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

Avatar is liked by many
Send a message via ICQ to Avatar
if you do a whois on the ip/domain this is the result:
Web server hosts 1452083 websites

its owned by Domains by Proxy, Inc so it seems they have just a lot of domains parked and the dns of the domain is pointed to google.com
Avatar is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum

Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Original Content funguru Blogging Forum 5 08-16-2006 02:46 PM
Original marketing altyfc Marketing Forum 2 12-18-2003 07:38 AM


Sponsor Links
Get exposure! Get exposure! Find Scripts Web Hosting Directory Get exposure! SEO Blog


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.
© Copyright 2008 V7 Inc