Webmaster Forum


Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Google Forum Discuss Google related issues.

Lionsanime Directory   Improve your ranking, submit to directories   V7N Directory

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2005, 08:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Join Date: 11-28-04
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 49
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Latest Blog:
None

webyourbusiness is a jewel in the roughwebyourbusiness is a jewel in the roughwebyourbusiness is a jewel in the roughwebyourbusiness is a jewel in the roughwebyourbusiness is a jewel in the roughwebyourbusiness is a jewel in the rough
WARNING - careful how you type google.com...

Firstly, apologies if you see this more than once - I'm only posting it to each forum I'm a member of ONCE, but I will be posting it to fairly large number of forums...

A web site preying on those that mis-type web addresses has targeted Google.com with a site that attempts to infest your PC with multiple browser hijackers...

Just be careful how you type google.com and hit return... more information from f-Secure on the problem here...

http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/googkle.shtml

Do NOT visit the Googkle.com site unless you are supremely confident in your Anti-virus/Anti-Trojan setup!!

Here's why ..... this is one nasty site - it has at least 4 trojan/hijackers that I found in a very cursory scan of the HTML - all of which appeared to be blocked by my hosts file, let alone NOD32.

Nothing managed to get through my hosts file to the NOD32 I run - although without a very extensive hosts file, I'm sure they would have...

I'm sure a more qualified security expert can provide a more in-depth analysis, and although I'm no expert, I can see that this site has the potential to be nailing many, many, MANY googlers with finger trouble!

The site itself is hosted on an EV1.net (Houston, TX) IP address and is registered to someone out of St. Petersburg in Russia... if anyone knows someone at EV1.net, it might be worth sending them a quick email... who knows.. it might (should) get pulled for a while....

http://www.whois.sc/googkle.com
webyourbusiness is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
SEO Hosting by HostGator  Advertise Here  Buy Blog Links
Old 04-26-2005, 08:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
CEO, V7 Inc
 
John Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-27-03
Location: Japan, mostly
Posts: 42,618
iTrader: 2 / 100%
John Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster materialJohn Scott is supreme webmaster material
Send a message via AIM to John Scott Send a message via Yahoo to John Scott
LOL. Hosted by EV1 - figures.
__________________
Buy Permanent Contextual Links - V7N Web Directory

Questions? Call V7 toll free @ 1.888.876.8762
John Scott is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum

Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Link Selling? Careful. viswablr Google Forum 40 07-20-2007 10:49 AM
What Would You Type Into Google? admimsid SEO Forum 18 03-06-2007 06:23 AM
Google indexing this type of dynamic page JoeLloyd Google Forum 6 01-05-2004 07:55 AM


Sponsor Links
Get exposure! Get exposure! Find Scripts Web Hosting Directory Get exposure! SEO Blog


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.
© Copyright 2008 V7 Inc