Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum

Google Forum Discuss Google related issues.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-19-2011, 01:45 AM
Midwifery Online's Avatar
Midwifery Online Midwifery Online is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: UK
Posts: 634
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Google alerts

I have a few google alerts set up with variations of my keyword and I receive the alerts daily to my inbox.

What I want to know is how do I get topics from my forum listed in these alerts? Many of my topics contain the keywords but yet they don't show in the alerts. I know topics from forums can be shown in these google alerts as one of my competitors has been listed once or twice (that I know of).

I'll be honest, I don't really know much about google alerts so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
J
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 03-19-2011, 02:07 AM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,710
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Do you have an alert set up for your forum's url? and it's name?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2011, 02:27 AM
Midwifery Online's Avatar
Midwifery Online Midwifery Online is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: UK
Posts: 634
iTrader: 10 / 100%
No....?

How do I do that LOL.

Like I said I have only really just bought about this as I know quite a few folk in my niche do use these alerts.

Haha please point me in the right direction
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2011, 07:28 AM
snakeair snakeair is offline
Super Moderator - Rest in Peace 2018
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 54,771
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midwifery Online View Post
No....?

How do I do that LOL.

Like I said I have only really just bought about this as I know quite a few folk in my niche do use these alerts.

Haha please point me in the right direction
For me, i have my domain in google alerts 2 times.

I've added domain.com and http://domain.com to my alerts.

Hope this helps.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2011, 08:39 AM
Midwifery Online's Avatar
Midwifery Online Midwifery Online is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: UK
Posts: 634
iTrader: 10 / 100%
I want my site to show up under my niches keyword for the alert, not create an alert just for my site if that makes sense?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2011, 08:21 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,710
iTrader: 5 / 100%
I have an alert for each of my sites. e.g.
Code:
www.htmlbasictutor.ca HTML Basic Tutor
The url one is good for catching content scrapers too.

See if this helps: How to Create a Google Alert
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Setup Google Alerts eddyjangle Google Forum 2 03-11-2011 10:00 AM
Google Alerts - How to use it thebitbotdotcom Google Forum 43 07-26-2010 05:58 AM
Google Alerts Now Available in RSS Format bluesea Google Forum 2 11-04-2008 10:38 PM
Google Web Alerts stuart Google Forum 6 06-11-2004 07:29 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC