Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum

Google Forum Discuss Google related issues.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:05 AM
vikypatil vikypatil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Posts: 19
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Google sitemap

Can any one help me to know how important Google sitemaps are.. are thet really useful for SEO.. or its the google way to reduce its work for crawling...

vikypatil
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:21 AM
wongpk's Avatar
wongpk wongpk is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-14-05
Posts: 37
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Robot.txt then For my point of view, both are about the same, but robot do better
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:44 AM
G10's Avatar
G10 G10 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 05-10-04
Location: UK - Cheshire
Posts: 11,765
iTrader: 5 / 100%
I'd say Google sitemaps are pretty good and worth having as the information they contain can definately help you further your site or at the very least, show you what could be going wrong
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:57 AM
minbak minbak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 03-15-06
Posts: 103
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I already submitted my site.

In the status report, it shows one error.

I don't quite understand.

It searches for www.iloveminbak.com/sitemap and got a 404 page.

I think the correct url should be /sitemap.php

Any difference?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2006, 06:04 AM
G10's Avatar
G10 G10 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 05-10-04
Location: UK - Cheshire
Posts: 11,765
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Did you insert the special file that Google tell you to put onto your site?

It's got some weird name and they are all individual.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2006, 06:49 AM
Mong's Avatar
Mong Mong is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 03-02-06
Location: floating on the C
Posts: 502
iTrader: 0 / 0%
It will take your 5 minutes to setup sitemap with google.And rest is the google's work.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:19 AM
Johan007's Avatar
Johan007 Johan007 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-15-03
Posts: 1,780
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Google will still spider your site the regular way. Does anyone know for fact that they reduce spiderring after adding a Google sitemaps?

A Google sitemaps is easy to set up if you have a database driven website. Simply output the information as RSS feed or using the specific Google Sitemap XML format. If you don’t have a database then you must be the judge of if you can be bothered to FTP it every time.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2006, 09:13 AM
minbak minbak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 03-15-06
Posts: 103
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yes, I did.

It was a very weird name.

It also stated as verified.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:21 PM
ATLien's Avatar
ATLien ATLien is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-13-03
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,135
iTrader: 0 / 0%
google only selects a select number of site map formates, and your current site map is not one of them. For example: http://www.8thandoceanforums.com/sitemap.php is not accepted by google, but http://www.8thandoceanforums.com/sitemap.txt is.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:11 PM
minbak minbak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 03-15-06
Posts: 103
iTrader: 0 / 0%
how about .html
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-22-2006, 03:33 AM
Johan007's Avatar
Johan007 Johan007 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-15-03
Posts: 1,780
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by minbak
how about .html
Not a good idea - Yes it would work becuas it is only a file name you could name it .bush and it would work technically as long as you format in XML 1.0 giving it the header <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> and so looks like my sitemap www.futuremovies.co.uk/sitemap.asp or Google's http://www.google.com/sitemap.xml many of those tags are optional and only <url><loc></loc></url> is realy used.

Again you could use plain text list or URL's if you dont want to use XML or your RSS2.0 feed that would already be in XML. Either way you want the site to update the URL's automatically from your database without you having to manually add it (that would funny!).

Read: Google Sitemaps (BETA) Help: Frequently Asked Questions

Last edited by Johan007; 03-22-2006 at 03:40 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:20 AM
vikypatil vikypatil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Posts: 19
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks guyes for the information ..
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Google Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a dynamic xml sitemap generator (sitemap.xml) for Google Sitemap beta2 Luca L. Google Forum 0 07-30-2006 05:17 AM
Google Sitemap Help Nick Google Forum 8 06-03-2006 10:19 AM
Google Sitemap jabeen32 Google Forum 1 01-25-2006 03:05 AM
Google Sitemap jabeen32 Google Forum 2 01-18-2006 10:15 AM
Google sitemap awall19s brother Google Forum 0 08-03-2005 02:11 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC