Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > Marketing Forum

Marketing Forum Marketing, branding and advertising discussions. Online and off-line marketing discussions.

Share |
Old 02-07-2011, 09:25 AM

How do you check ad specifications on banner ads, etc.?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the industry so I apologize if this is a dumb question. My background is in printing/publishing, not web. Similar to print ads, there are specific criteria a publisher may require for online advertisers (e.g. file size limits, physical dimensions reqs, max run time, max # of loops). I know the IAB has guidelines they publish. My questions is - how do you check to make sure the advertisements meet the requirements? Automatically? Manually? Not at all? Any tools out there which do this? Any info you can provide would be great.

Thanks for your time.

Greg

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 02-07-2011, 12:32 PM
v7n Mentor

If I understand you correctly, you're asking about checking to make sure your ads comply with something? Maybe I misread that, but that's what it kinda sounds like. The published list at IAB is their general guidelines, what THEY have chosen to be general, and yes, many publishers tend to fall into one of those categories. I'd suggest that compliance or not really falls down to your website layout. You come from a world where things are more stringent, because of physical paper size, etc. This is a less restrictive world.

I'd be more concerned with your website layout and how the ads mesh with that than I would with a "size compliance" of some sort that really does not exist.