Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Business Forums > Online Business Forum

Online Business Forum General online business related topics including ecommerce, customer related issues, home based business challenges & tips, etc.

Share |
Old 07-24-2009, 10:15 AM
No Longer Active

Thumbs down Learning To Run and Promote Your Business

Some say that the very minute we stop learning, is the moment our businesses begin to become stale, inviting the risk of failure. What steps are you taking to keep learning? Do you take classes? Are you self taught? Do you study and learn from tutorials? What action has helped the most?

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 07-24-2009, 11:42 AM
v7n Mentor

My business is Bricks and Mortar but I think a lot of things still apply online. I constantly check out my competition. I subscribe to trade magazines to see what's on the cutting edge. Inventory is my biggest struggle. Trying to determine what will sell and what will just sit. I make myself take a few minutes each day googling other retailers and industry professionals to see what's new. I am also a member of our local Chamber of Commerce and on the board of directors of our local downtown merchants assoc. You can never do too much networking, even if your bad at it, you will see familiar faces and feel more comfortable striking up a conversation if you regularly attend.

BTW. I own and operate a self serve pet wash a boutique. WagandWash(dot)ca , if you want to take a look.

Old 07-25-2009, 12:02 AM
Administrator

Do you take classes?
Yes, both on and off line

Are you self taught?
The business side of things are from past experiences (seeing what others did and what didn't work), reading business books and reading online.

Do you study and learn from tutorials?
Yes

What action has helped the most?
Implementing what was learnt. Practicing techniques over and over. Creating checklists so each step is covered.

Old 07-25-2009, 06:12 AM
Contributing Member