Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Business Forums > Online Business Forum

Online Business Forum General online business related topics including ecommerce, customer related issues, home based business challenges & tips, etc.

Closed Thread

Share |
Old 07-18-2011, 10:35 AM

Newbie about to take the plunge!

Hi Friends,

(I know this is a bit, long, thanks for your willingness to help!)

I was so pleased to find a friendly resource such as this!

I'm trying to whittle down my plans to take my first site live, and I wanted to run my ideas by you. I would appreciate any feedback, commentary, or even links to helpful guides/tutorials that you may know about.

MY TECHNICAL BACKGROUND:

I own Adobe Dreamsuite, and am comfortable with basic HTML and website design. I took a free class at my university about it; I own some "For Dummies" books; and I have numerous bookmarked tutorial pages. I'm still quite a newbie, though.

MY SITE:

I'm a pianist and a composer. I've composed several original pieces. I will record videos of myself performing them, mp3s of myself performing them, and have already created the sheet music of my compositions. I plan to market my site on youtube with my videos (of both my compositions and other pieces). I plan on then selling mp3s and the sheet music on my website. Maybe a t-shirt or two as well. Also, I'll be writing short articles and guides and doing more youtube videos about music and about how to compose and things like that. I think with youtube and these articles, I'm establishing a decent foundation for marketing.

MY QUESTIONS:

Do you think it would be best for me to just to do a simple WordPress or Weebly website instead of making my own? What advantages would I have either way? Like I said, this is my first site, so I've never dealt with hosting or anything like that.