Webmaster Forum

Webmaster Forum (http://www.v7n.com/forums/index.php)
-   Coding Forum (http://www.v7n.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Help Figuring Out Contact Form (http://www.v7n.com/forums/showthread.php?t=249257)

baby.hack 05-04-2011 08:59 AM

Help Figuring Out Contact Form

Hi,
I'm new to these forums. I have some basic webdesign and programming knowledge, but I'm still not really familiar with php or js. I'm a bit of a newbie.

I friend has asked me to help with a site they run, and the contact form they are using needs to have the "to" email changed.

Perhaps someone here might be able to point me in the right direction?

The page is http://www.parkdaleliberty.com/show_info.php?page_id=8

The form is in a .php file, the contents of which are printed in the page source from that file.

So far I'm not sure what I should be looking for.

I'm familiar with forms of the <form method="POST" action="somefile.php"> variety, but this seems different. What happens when the submit button is pressed? Where should I be looking to find the code that processes and sends the form (ie: if(isset($_POST['submit'])) { .....} )

I feel like this should be obvious, so forgive me if it is.

nemrod 05-04-2011 10:05 AM

First of all, welcome to the forums! Hope you have a good stay. :)

Now, as for your problem, it's impossible to say without seeing the PHP code. The form should send to the same page since there is no action attribute, so take a look at the source code of it.

diondevelopment 05-04-2011 03:38 PM

When the submit button is pressed, it sends POST variables server-side so that the values can then be used through whatever programming language they are using.

Through this code they are sending the email, using the POST variables.

bwclapp 05-04-2011 09:57 PM

your form action is set to somefile.php (action="somefile.php")

the somefile.php will have to get the variables somehow (done by using $_POST[])

for example.. your somefile.php will contain at the top