Webmaster Forum

Webmaster Forum (http://www.v7n.com/forums/index.php)
-   Google Forum (http://www.v7n.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   A question about http error in Google Sitemap (http://www.v7n.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31600)

GoWFB_SEO 06-06-2006 11:31 AM

A question about http error in Google Sitemap
 
In Google Analytics, when I click "http errors" tab, it shows:
http://24.71.120.171/JeffC/ScreenHunter_2.bmp

but when I click craw stats, it shows:
http://24.71.120.171/JeffC/ScreenHunter_1.bmp

Why it shows http errors in the craw stats, can someone help me to clarify this? thanks

Fruit & Veg 06-06-2006 02:22 PM

Maybe the error is on a page on your website, but it's a page that does NOT have analytics code on it.

Are you 100% certain that ALL the pages on this domain have Analytics code on them?

cimmeron 06-06-2006 03:57 PM

this is only related to the sitemap, I believe, not analytics. I've gotten this before and I assumed that it meant there had been errors in the past, but none now.

Gevorg 06-07-2006 08:00 AM

You must realize that Analytics will show only errors if the actual HTML code with analytic's JavaScript on it was served and executed.

The Google's sitemap shows the errors that Googlebot had encountered when was spidering your site.

1. Googlebot does not execute javascript thus absolutely ignoring the Analytic.
2. The Analytic's stats will not show if your server has generated some kind of error like 500 or 404 (unless you have custom handler for those errors with Analytics code there, but I doubt it).

----------------------------------------------------------

From your picture you have way to may errors 1/3 of total amount of pages. I would definitely pay attention and investigate. Get the actual web logs.

While some errors are normal. Usually 404, i think you have way to much.

GoWFB_SEO 06-07-2006 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gevorg
You must realize that Analytics will show only errors if the actual HTML code with analytic's JavaScript on it was served and executed.

The Google's sitemap shows the errors that Googlebot had encountered when was spidering your site.

1. Googlebot does not execute javascript thus absolutely ignoring the Analytic.
2. The Analytic's stats will not show if your server has generated some kind of error like 500 or 404 (unless you have custom handler for those errors with Analytics code there, but I doubt it).

----------------------------------------------------------

From your picture you have way to may errors 1/3 of total amount of pages. I would definitely pay attention and investigate. Get the actual web logs.

While some errors are normal. Usually 404, i think you have way to much.

I assume it is because some of my page is partially indexed coz I didn't find any bad links on my site. Can you tell me how can I pinpoint the html error in the actual web log?

Gevorg 06-07-2006 09:36 PM

It's not related to how your pages are indexed. Actually i do not understand the phrase "page is partially indexed".

To analyze logs you need Log analyzer. I am not unix/lynux guy so can not tell you good analyzer. But pretty much any will show you the problem.


Also google shows HTTP error (not HTML error).

HTTP error is an error code that is returned when browser (or googlebot) asks for the page.

200 is OK.
404 - means page is not there.
301 or 302 - redirects (server also suplies additional info as where redirect to)
500 - means aplication error. If you wrote buggy php for example

Fruit & Veg 06-08-2006 07:47 AM

Check that the urls in your Google sitemap all work.

GoWFB_SEO 06-08-2006 08:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gevorg
It's not related to how your pages are indexed. Actually i do not understand the phrase "page is partially indexed".

To analyze logs you need Log analyzer. I am not unix/lynux guy so can not tell you good analyzer. But pretty much any will show you the problem.


Also google shows HTTP error (not HTML error).

HTTP error is an error code that is returned when browser (or googlebot) asks for the page.

200 is OK.
404 - means page is not there.
301 or 302 - redirects (server also suplies additional info as where redirect to)
500 - means aplication error. If you wrote buggy php for example


Thanks. I checked the log, and found that there are the request for image files caused the error. But the problem is that i can recall anywhere on my page I requested the image (<img src="...">). and also, even though i did not request the image on my page, I still kept that image on the server


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 PM.

3.8.7