Webmaster Forum

Webmaster Forum (http://www.v7n.com/forums/index.php)
-   Webmaster Revenue (http://www.v7n.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Generating revenue. Where do I start? (http://www.v7n.com/forums/showthread.php?t=278759)

sparior 10-13-2011 10:27 PM

Generating revenue. Where do I start?

I am close to launching a Job search engine website.( www.joobgle.com ) This is my first major live website since I graduated, thus the first chance I've had to introduce some sort of income from it.

I know websites earn money from advertising, but I really don't know where to start with this.

I've heard of google adsense, but it's just jargon to me.

Where do I start in terms of advertising and generating revenue?

Thanks,

Cliff

Maa 10-14-2011 12:05 PM

First you can start with word of mouth. Telling everyone you know about it. You can find affiliate programs that pertain to your niche. Here are some affiliate sites you can look into: Google affiliates, Linkshare, Commission Junction, Revenueads etc. You should join these sites and browse them to find out what affiliate programs that pertain to your website. This is where the majority of money comes from for people who own websites or blogs.

Social media is where you can tell more people about your site. Sites such as twitter, facebook, apsense, viral networks, adlandpro etc. These are networking sites.

Participation in forums that pertain to your topic. Such as job forums where people are looking for jobs.

I hope this was helpful. Wishing you much success!

vServer Center 10-14-2011 12:26 PM

With a job site you have a few options for revenue:
-Google AdSense Advertising
-Charge users to view jobs
-Charge companies to post jobs

I would suggest you start with a free site and once you have users coming and using the site offer companies the ability to upgrade their free listings. You could keep the paid listings on the top of the list, make them not expire as quickly or allow them to include images.