Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:57 AM
kevin316 kevin316 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 06-07-09
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 64
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Sitemap question

I was able to build and submit a sitemap to Google but it is telling me that all the pages have the same priority.

How do you change the priority settings and what should be the page with top priority, the home page?
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 06-11-2009, 12:18 PM
MarinIke91 MarinIke91 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-11-09
Posts: 5
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Pages with higher priority will be indexed first. For very big sites Google will not index everything so put important pages with a higher priority. For small sites the priority does not need to be set.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2009, 03:17 PM
Blackpool's Avatar
Blackpool Blackpool is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: England
Posts: 203
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarinIke91 View Post
Pages with higher priority will be indexed first. For very big sites Google will not index everything so put important pages with a higher priority. For small sites the priority does not need to be set.
Place 1 for your home, 0.75 for medium pages and 0.5 for other webpages.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:36 PM
kevin316 kevin316 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 06-07-09
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 64
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks Blackpool but where do you put those numbers in the sitemap? I created my map with the google tool. I'm missing something here.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2009, 09:00 PM
woogley woogley is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 12-21-08
Location: white House :O
Posts: 275
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin316 View Post
Thanks Blackpool but where do you put those numbers in the sitemap? I created my map with the google tool. I'm missing something here.

create your html or xml site dude...
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:14 AM
kbeus21's Avatar
kbeus21 kbeus21 is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 03-05-09
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,071
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarinIke91 View Post
Pages with higher priority will be indexed first. For very big sites Google will not index everything so put important pages with a higher priority. For small sites the priority does not need to be set.
That really helps me also thanks marinike
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2009, 12:23 PM
kevin316 kevin316 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 06-07-09
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 64
iTrader: 0 / 0%
how do you set the priority?

Is it something in the sitemap or within the page when you build it?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:52 PM
kevin316 kevin316 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 06-07-09
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 64
iTrader: 0 / 0%
OK update from my side. I opened the sitemap file (not sure why I didn't before) and here is what I found.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<urlset
xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9"
xmlnssi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9
http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9/sitemap.xsd">
<!-- created with Free Online Sitemap Generator www.xml-sitemaps.com -->

<url>
<loc>http://www.learn2eat.ca/</loc>
<priority>1.00</priority>
<lastmod>2009-06-05T05:16:16+00:00</lastmod>
<changefreq>monthly</changefreq>
</url>
<url>
<loc>http://www.learn2eat.ca/index.html</loc>
<priority>0.80</priority>
<lastmod>2009-06-05T05:16:16+00:00</lastmod>
<changefreq>monthly</changefreq>
</url>
</urlset>

It looks like it only found my index page. I can add the others the long way but why wouldn't it have included them automatically?

On a positive note I know how to change the priority now.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:12 AM
kevin316 kevin316 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 06-07-09
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 64
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The site is created. I used a program called Web Studio and I think that may be causing me some of these problems. I'm working on a new version in Dreamweaver but it is a real learning curve.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
html sitemap VS xml Sitemap Tariel Zivzivadze Google Forum 25 01-31-2008 01:18 AM
Sitemap jjmortega SEO Forum 13 12-29-2007 05:57 AM
Looking for a dynamic xml sitemap generator (sitemap.xml) for Google Sitemap beta2 Luca L. Google Forum 0 07-30-2006 05:17 AM
A question about http error in Google Sitemap GoWFB_SEO Google Forum 7 06-08-2006 08:42 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC