<EDIT: Summary of WilliamC, PhilC and SEGuru Fiasco posted here.>
I friend recently called me to ask about textlinkbrokerage.com. He said he bought a bunch of links a few months ago, and when he asked where the links were WilliamC told him that he couldn't tell because Google would penalize him for selling PageRank. (LOL - he doesn't have PR worth selling! )
Anyway, my friend figured he he'd just give it time and the links would show up as backlinks either in Google or AllTheWeb or both, and the links would show up in referrer log of his site.
Well, three months later, the links never did show up as backlinks, and there were no referrals from the mystery site.
Seems that either this site gets no traffic and has no PR, or the links he bought never existed in the first place.
If you're looking to buy or sell links, I'd recommend www.text-link-ads.com - he has done business with several members here and they all seem happy with his service.
Somebody asked him somewhere is those testimonials were real and he said yes, but if you know WilliamC you'd know he's more inclined to lie than tell the truth, and most testimonials are signed by names of his kids.
Testimonial on autorpro.com:
Quote:
"Saturday night after I first heard back from you that you were planning new features for EasyResponderPro, I couldn't fall asleep until 3am. I was just too wound-up to relax!"
Testimonial on textlinkbrokerage.com:
Quote:
"Friday night after I first heard back from you that you were adding more new websites to the network, I couldn't fall asleep until 3am. I was just too wound-up to relax!"
Both signed by "Cristian", the name of his 7 year old. LOL
Frankly, all of these link auction places are un-professional.
You have very little recourse if the deal goes bad. The last time I purchased a link on LinkAdage, no one even responded. I got an email about winning the bid and never heard from anyone again.
I had a very good experience at LinkAdage. I picked up several new customers and the owner promptly replied to my support emails. If your buying links, look for sellers with a good rating.
Just got a PM from a member here saying that WilliamC noticed this post and is trying to get legitimate testimonials up. Well, I don't know about legitimate, but he's trying to get testimonials that weren't written by his 5 year old.
So I went and looked, and sure enough, some of the testimonials are gone, replaced with:
Quote:
This testimonial removed due to a libelous individual trying to say it was fake, we can't have that now can we. Truth page to follow
Truth to follow? LOL! Not if it's coming from WilliamC!!
For those wondering, the testimonials he removed were the ones signed by his "Cristian", his son:
Testimonial on autorpro.com:
Quote:
Quote:
"Saturday night after I first heard back from you that you were planning new features for EasyResponderPro, I couldn't fall asleep until 3am. I was just too wound-up to relax!"
Testimonial on textlinkbrokerage.com:
Quote:
"Friday night after I first heard back from you that you were adding more new websites to the network, I couldn't fall asleep until 3am. I was just too wound-up to relax!"
Be he chose to leave this one up:
Quote:
"Wow! EasyResponder Pro is just what ive been looking for! My clients love it, and im pleased to say Ive finally found a instant response solution that they can use!
Thanks guys, keep up the great work."
Jaime Collins
KeywordMage.com
Jaime Collins is the same as Jaime Cross, his wife, and KeywordMage.com is a site he owns.
I really must say, truth must be an absolutely foreign concept to WilliamC. He makes a veiled threat to sue me for "libel", when we all know that you can't sue for libel unless the statements made were both malicious and false. My calling him a liar may be malicious, but it is indeed true, so he cannot sue. However, just in case he has a shadow of a doubt in the matter, let me make it clear that I'm calling him a liar.
WilliamC, you're a pathetic liar. Feel free to quote me on that. And sue me if you you need an education as to the nature of honesty.
Oh, and the PM I got from a former customer of his ended with:
Quote:
Only wish i had seen you posts about him before we got ripped off $1k 6 months ago.
Thanks for sharing this information on textlinkbrokerage.com
I am among those who have considered this company, and I had no idea of these unethical practices and the fact that the product may not even be delivered.
I also checked out text-link-ads.com and one thing that immediately stood out to me was the BBBOnLine Reliability seal. However, when I clicked it, it was for a company named "Positioned 1" - does anyone know if this is another site from the owners of text-link-ads.com? (Either way, as an unknowing consumer, I certainly get sceptical when the name on the BBB report does not match the name of the site I clicked through from. I'm guessing there is a natural explanation to this, but I can imagine how some potential customers might shy away once they realize this...)
It's a legitimate company, a real company, and a good company. Patrick Gavin is behind it, and I've dealt with him many times, talked with him on the phone on almost daily basis. He runs a very good business, and is on the up and up. Really, I can't say enough good about Patrick. He's just a real prince of a guy.
The BBB report lists the principal as Bill Fish, so I am guessing he is Patrick's business partner.
The report also says "Bill Fish is also identified in BBB files as an officer of the following companies: Quality Bar Stools.com,
TheAlarmClockShop.com, TheVineStore.com,
USA-Hammocks.com, Quality-Scooters.com, and
SK8erShoes.com. Separate reports on these companies are available upon request. "
Perhaps it would be a good idea to have the BBB include text-link-ads in that listing as well, making it easy for visitors to verify that the BBB report is actually for the company running the service.
0 complaints reported by BBB by the way - good to know!