Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-22-2011, 03:48 PM
gingerlyspicy gingerlyspicy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 03-22-11
Posts: 131
iTrader: 0 / 0%
want to create new subdomain and replace content from primary domain to new subdomain

i started a site 2 months back (i m new to wordpress – 2 months only)in which i had one category named X……now since this category x has lot of information so i want to make a new subdomain for category x……..so basically my question is how shud i transfer cpntent from my primary domain to new subdomain…..the following things/questions are popping up in my mind.

1. Do i delete the content from my primary domain and put the same content on my subdomain but i guess it will hamper my seo..

2. do i redirect that category content using page links to plugin (and using 301 redirect) on my new subdomain without deleting the content on my primary domain

3. i delete the content from main domain and redirect the urls (using page links to plugin, 301 redirect)of those pages/posts to new subdomain’s pages/posts…
i m so so confused which will hurt my seo rankings and which will not…..plz advice me i will be grateful sorry for the noob question
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:06 AM
gingerlyspicy gingerlyspicy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 03-22-11
Posts: 131
iTrader: 0 / 0%
plz reply folks
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:49 AM
feckthat feckthat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-11
Posts: 6
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I would generally avoid sub-domains, but if you want to. Just move the content, and resubmit things like sitemaps, if you have any, and do 301 redirects to the new content. So requesting www.oldpage.com/helpful-info.php should point to subdomain.oldpage.com/helpful-info.php

You can if you want change the name of the file name aswell, i.e. helpful-info.php to subdomain.oldpage.com/helpful-info-keyword.php
just make sure you do your redirects right
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2011, 12:11 PM
gingerlyspicy gingerlyspicy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 03-22-11
Posts: 131
iTrader: 0 / 0%
thanks for reply man... so u think subdirectory/subfolder is better option as subdomain will mean starting over again from scratch as subdomain is equal to new site and link building all over again? so shud i fresh install wp to new folder in my root drectory as i want to use new theme in it :-P?
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New domain, old subdomain problems rearadmiral Google Forum 1 10-18-2007 04:32 PM
Series of Related Sites: Domain for Each or Subdomain? KevinJB SEO Forum 7 07-21-2006 07:45 PM
Blog software to create subdomain on website agent14 Blogging Forum 2 07-07-2006 10:10 AM
htaccess/mod rewrite help to redirect subdomain to a domain Thanol Coding Forum 0 07-19-2004 09:36 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC