Webmaster Forum


Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.

Bidding Directory   Improve your ranking, submit to directories   V7N Directory

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2006, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Inactive
 
DotZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-22-06
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 57
iTrader: 0 / 0%
DotZero is liked by somebodyDotZero is liked by somebodyDotZero is liked by somebodyDotZero is liked by somebodyDotZero is liked by somebody
Send a message via MSN to DotZero Send a message via Skype™ to DotZero
LinkWizard.net homepage link

Every couple of months or so i have been getting emails from "LinkWizard" asking if I want to put my a link on their homepage (PR7) for $40 / month. The last one i got i responded to because i thought it might be a good opportunity. I asked for the details, and how to pay, and was told to send the money through paypal to a yahoo email address. This is really strange as i had been receiving emails from "LinkWizard" using an email address info@linkwizard.net.

Now if i didn't think it was sus before, this clearly raised some warning bells. I was just wondering if anyone else had received these emails and done anything about it. Just a bit wary of losing $40 to a stupid scam.

Any insight would be appreciated.
DotZero is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
SEO Hosting by HostGator  Advertise Here  Buy Blog Links
Old 06-23-2006, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
v7n Mentor
 
bcombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-26-04
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 439
iTrader: 0 / 0%
bcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web probcombs is a highly respected web pro
It could be legit. Maybe he set up the PayPal account before he set up LinkWizard.net.

Still, it's a good idea to be skeptical.
__________________
Brian Combs, Senior VP & Chief Futurist, Apogee Search
Search Engine Marketing

George Bush is reading your email. Use big words!
bcombs is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 04:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Inactive
 
Tekime's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-11-05
Posts: 30
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Tekime is liked by many
Do not use linkwizard.net. I have received numerous automated SPAM posts linking to their site. That is, unless you want to support blackhat SEO.
Tekime is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsor Links
Get exposure! Get exposure! Find Scripts Web Hosting Directory Get exposure! SEO Blog


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 PM.
© Copyright 2008 V7 Inc