Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.

Share |
Old 06-13-2013, 10:04 PM
Contributing Member

301 Redirect to Hompage?

I have several pages that are targeting the same keywords as my homepage basically. I know Google does not like it when you 301 all your old pages to your Hompage but if the pages are relevant and there are only a few of them will this help my Hompage? Is this even worth doing? Or should I just keep the old pages as they are? The reason I am asking is because my Homepage has failed to rank due to these other pages being almost identical key terms. I have never been able to get these pages to rank together. So I was thinking I would be better off creating 1 super page with all the others redirected to it. Any Ideas on this? I'm new to this 301 redirect thing so I don't want to shoot myself in the foot.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 06-13-2013, 10:23 PM
Contributing Member

We have a business website and few months ago we updated it from one platform to another.

our old website URL structure was like this:
http://www.SAMPLE.com/product_service

but the new URL structure is,
http://www.SAMPLE.com/product-service

The main difference on hyphen and underscore. So after the update we got lots of 404 error under google webmaster center. but we install a plugin under our website so that all 404 page redirect to home page. So do you think this is harmful for SEO?

Old 06-13-2013, 10:25 PM
Contributing Member

Yes, you can create a super-page if you think that it would be relevant to those error pages so that all the error pages would be redirected to this.

The alternative is either you can 301-redirect to home page or any relevant page.

Old 06-13-2013, 10:28 PM
Contributing Member

Quote: