Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 05-30-2014, 05:20 AM
cissam cissam is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 10-11-13
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 83
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Switching from shop.domain.com to www.domain.com

Currently my company has a fairly backwards site structure in which if you click on any link off our homepage you are taken from www.domain.com to shop.domain.com. Because of this practically all of our organic ranking pages are shop.domain.com/page.

Now they would like to get rid of that and go straight www.domain.com and get rid of the shop.domain.com pages. I'm thinking that it will be as simple as making all shop.domain.com pages 301 to the www.domain.com page and eventually the www will replace the shop version in the organic ranking.

Is it in fact that simple or should there be other things I should be wary about?
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 05-30-2014, 08:18 AM
Samam Samam is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-26-14
Location: South Africa
Posts: 270
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by cissam View Post
Currently my company has a fairly backwards site structure in which if you click on any link off our homepage you are taken from www.domain.com to shop.domain.com. Because of this practically all of our organic ranking pages are shop.domain.com/page.

Now they would like to get rid of that and go straight www.domain.com and get rid of the shop.domain.com pages. I'm thinking that it will be as simple as making all shop.domain.com pages 301 to the www.domain.com page and eventually the www will replace the shop version in the organic ranking.

Is it in fact that simple or should there be other things I should be wary about?
The first thing you should be worried about is the backlinks that site has, all will not be working because change in url actually it will be like starting new website.
 
  #3  
Old 05-30-2014, 08:37 AM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,536
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samam View Post
The first thing you should be worried about is the backlinks that site has, all will not be working because change in url actually it will be like starting new website.
If they do the 301s properly the backlinks will still work. Although, contacting the places that are linking to the old version and having the url corrected would be best.
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-2014, 07:07 AM
cissam cissam is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 10-11-13
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 83
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yes. I was thinking of doing exactly the same.
 
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Domain For Sale. 3 Letter Domain + Video Site Domain elemanyak Domains 0 12-02-2006 05:48 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC