Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.

Closed Thread

Share |
Old 11-05-2016, 04:44 AM

Seo experiment - how I got my website from unindexet to #2 on Google

Hey guys, I work in the affiliate business, which means I create a lot of websites and test a lot of different stuff to try to make them rank.
For that I use WordPress, where I have managed to make a website go from unindexet to #2 on Google within a few days,
which I thought some of you might find interesting

A little disclaimer is that I did this on medium competition keywords, and not high competition

Anyways here's the "recipe" that I used to make this possible

Meta data:
It's improtant to make your meta data top notch.
First of all you wanna go to settings > general and choose the language you want the website to rank for.
URL structure is also really important, so go to settings > permalinks and choose "post name", ideally you customize it for every page though, so it's optimized.
After that is done install "Yoast" or "All in one Seo" and set that up, there is lots of guides for that, so I'm not gonna go in depth with that.

Only 1 H1
A lot of themes have the flaw that they have multiple H1's which can really harm your SEO, so make sure this is not the case with your theme, to check it
view the source and search for H1, this is very critical.

Low spam score
There's lots of factors in spam scores, here's how to avoid a few ones easily:
- Add a contact email or form, this is important
- Every article should be 1000+ words
- Do not hide or make links hard to see, this is a huge factor

Sitemap and breadcrumbs
It's important to have a sitemap, and less important to have breadcrumbs, but it's a nice little extra thing that Google rewards.
Yoast and many other plugins offer both of these things.

Pagespeed: Google insight