Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 07-03-2017, 03:12 PM
ca1987 ca1987 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 07-03-17
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Change to exact match domain resulted in complete loss of presence - Help!

Our original domain (page 1) has disappeared, the new one is on page 6 without www (www version was specified in webmaster tools), search data is only shown for sans-www version in webmaster tools. We got an exact match .com so I figured it would shoot to the top. I did the 301 redirects on the whole site, did it all properly as far as I can tell (as far as I've read).. same IP. It went off without a hitch except it's nowhere to be seen.


One thing is there is no change of address tool available for the original domain for some reason so I haven't been able to utilize that.


Does google just take months to do this? It's been about 3 weeks with no change. We've lost our SERP rankings and we were thinking we were going to have a boost instantly.


Our redirects look like this:


Code:
<?php header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently"); header("Location: (removed for privacy)"); ?>
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 07-03-2017, 10:52 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,710
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Possibly because you didn't do your redirects quite right.

If you are on an Apache server, use the .htaccess file to do your 301 permanent redirects.

Pick one version of your domain name and point the other one to the chosen one.

You also need to park then point the old domain name to the chosen version of the new domain name.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2017, 11:53 PM
webhost.uk.net webhost.uk.net is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-26-09
Posts: 110
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yes you need to wait for sometime till the whole new domain comes up in google. You also need to go back to all forums or blogs you have and correct the signature URL or links you have posted to point to the new domain to make some things faster.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2017, 08:24 AM
ca1987 ca1987 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 07-03-17
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTMLBasicTutor View Post
Possibly because you didn't do your redirects quite right.

If you are on an Apache server, use the .htaccess file to do your 301 permanent redirects.

Pick one version of your domain name and point the other one to the chosen one.

You also need to park then point the old domain name to the chosen version of the new domain name.
Thanks for the reply. I seem to be on CentOS 6, some kind of linux-based software. Is that right? Or could it still be using Apache? Forgive my ignorance..
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC