Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2017, 06:02 AM
params's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 07-26-17
Location: India
Posts: 22
iTrader: 0 / 0%
URL Canonicalization for url

I have moved my website from http to https recently. Somewhere I read that we do need URL Canonicalization for url. Please tell me what is it and how to do it..
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2017, 06:04 AM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 01-21-16
Location: Delhi
Posts: 276
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Once your HTTPS mapping is ready, set up 301 redirects on your server from the old HTTP URLs to the new HTTPS URLs. For more details visit : https://www.ssls.com/blog/easily-move-website-https/
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-19-2017, 01:40 AM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 07-12-17
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 62
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yes it is very important. Because if your http & https both URL are live the google considered as a duplicate. So you should redirect the http to https with the help of "htaccess".
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2017, 02:15 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 09-18-17
Location: India
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Actually canonical tag use for avoiding duplicate content. Where as, you moved website from http to https then content on both sites is same. Then bots treat as duplicate or copied content. At this time, you should use the canonical tag. I briefly explain with an example here.
You have two pages(A and B) on your website. In that, both have the same content. Even, you need the two pages in your site. But bots treated as duplicate content. For this reason, you need to use a canonical tag. At this time, you use the "canonical tag" on which page you want to index and rank. In the remaining one, you use "no index" meta robots tag. Then bots index and rank the which has canonical tag
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2017, 04:48 AM
Asmit Roy's Avatar
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 08-09-17
Location: India
Posts: 56
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You can use the 301 redirection for your update URL.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2017, 05:29 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-30-17
Location: Helotes, Texas
Posts: 33
iTrader: 0 / 0%
hello are you know about what is on page?
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2017, 07:19 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 09-30-17
Posts: 10
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Forcing all users (and google) to the https version is one good solution.

You can also easily solve this by having:

<link rel="canonical" href="https://yoursite" />

in the head of your html.

Then google will treat this page as the original.
All of your pages should have a canonical telling google if there is multiple versions of the page and which one is the original.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There is a problem in RSS URL you have specified error while updating RSS link apoorvsukumar V7N Forum Support 1 09-16-2017 02:02 PM
how can i change the url for google parsayasalehi SEO Forum 10 09-04-2017 01:14 AM
Canonical URL surya kumar SEO Forum 6 03-23-2017 03:59 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2014 Escalate Media




Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.