Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 12-26-2017, 04:36 AM
sachin88 sachin88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-24-17
Location: India
Posts: 14
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Robots.txt error

I have uploaded my robots.txt file when I got error in webmaster tool.. but how do I know I did right or wrong? Is there any problem if I delete the file from file manager ( cpanel )?
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 12-26-2017, 05:43 AM
sloshout's Avatar
sloshout sloshout is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 12-26-17
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 6
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hi Sachin,

Login to Google Webmaster console, select your website. Under the "Crawl" menu, there is a robots.txt tester tool.

Check your robots.txt code there.
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-2017, 07:44 AM
mrb1129's Avatar
mrb1129 mrb1129 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-13
Posts: 226
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Don't delete your file manager.

Check your robots.txt file as suggested previously.

Can you tell us more about your robots.txt file how much you have modified it?
 
  #4  
Old 12-26-2017, 08:26 AM
sachin88 sachin88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-24-17
Location: India
Posts: 14
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by sloshout View Post
Hi Sachin,

Login to Google Webmaster console, select your website. Under the "Crawl" menu, there is a robots.txt tester tool.

Check your robots.txt code there.
I see "Allowed" but the error in webmaster is as it is...



Quote:
Originally Posted by mrb1129 View Post
Can you tell us more about your robots.txt file how much you have modified it?
Actually I was using WordPress plugin... so just have copied a file from there and made a new text file 2 days ago... then logged in to my cpanel, open a file manager, selected public _html from there and uploaded a text file...

is that OK? If yes, then why I am still facing the error?
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-2017, 06:25 PM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,437
iTrader: 5 / 100%
What specifically is the error you are being shown?
 
  #6  
Old 12-26-2017, 11:25 PM
sachin88 sachin88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-24-17
Location: India
Posts: 14
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTMLBasicTutor View Post
What specifically is the error you are being shown?
5xx (unreachable) error from 12 December. I already have called my web server but they didn't find anything.
 
  #7  
Old 12-27-2017, 12:02 AM
sloshout's Avatar
sloshout sloshout is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 12-26-17
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 6
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Exclamation Robots.txt error.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sachin88 View Post
5xx (unreachable) error from 12 December. I already have called my web server but they didn't find anything.

Where you get this error, in Google Webmaster Console? or somewhere else!

Please share the screenshot of the error, so we help you.
 
  #8  
Old 12-27-2017, 01:15 AM
HTMLBasicTutor's Avatar
HTMLBasicTutor HTMLBasicTutor is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Canada
Posts: 26,437
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by sachin88 View Post
5xx (unreachable) error from 12 December. I already have called my web server but they didn't find anything.
5xx are server errors. Check these 5xx server errors.

Also make sure your domain name server is working properly.
 
  #9  
Old 12-27-2017, 01:44 AM
ewebac ewebac is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-12-13
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 385
iTrader: 0 / 0%
can your share your url so that we can check what is the actual problem... common problem which people.. is while saving the file they put .txt along with the file name which becomes robots.txt.txt

I hope you have not done this..
 
  #10  
Old 12-27-2017, 02:09 AM
veraajverma veraajverma is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-16
Location: Delhi
Posts: 298
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Can you share the snapshot of the error so that we can better understand and suggest you how to resolve the issue..
 
  #11  
Old 12-27-2017, 02:43 AM
sachin88 sachin88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-24-17
Location: India
Posts: 14
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewebac View Post
while saving the file they put .txt along with the file name which becomes robots.txt.txt

I hope you have not done this..
Actually that was happened but I updated..

I have attached a screenshot... please take a look... and let me know what is the problem..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sc-2.png
Views:	12
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	19022  
 
  #12  
Old 12-27-2017, 03:34 AM
seodaikaads seodaikaads is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-02-14
Posts: 188
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by sachin88 View Post
Actually that was happened but I updated..

I have attached a screenshot... please take a look... and let me know what is the problem..
If you have updated the file with the right extension then no problem and it will take time to get updated. Try to fetch the URL individually!! Better use the meta robots tag if you need to block the bot.

Last edited by seodaikaads; 12-27-2017 at 03:38 AM.
 
  #13  
Old 12-28-2017, 12:25 AM
sachin88 sachin88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-24-17
Location: India
Posts: 14
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Now finally my robots.txt file crawled successfully by googlebots. It took around 4 days but finally I succeed.
I just want to say thank you to all of you.
 
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange 400 error in Google Search Console Prakash Dayani SEO Forum 6 01-13-2018 06:06 AM
Getting a page listed in Google thats blocked by robots.txt techguy99 SEO Forum 1 04-07-2017 03:40 PM
Moz 803 Error Bridgie SEO Forum 4 04-07-2017 02:17 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC