Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:25 AM
Jordanl18 Jordanl18 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 11-15-06
Location: Denver
Posts: 22
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Dynamic URLs

I have a pretty good idea what a dynamic URL is but I just want to make sure, so if someone could please explain that to me I would appreciate it.

Also, if I do have dynamic URLs what is the best way to work around it for SEO or do I need to reformat my web site?
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:52 AM
Johan007's Avatar
Johan007 Johan007 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-15-03
Posts: 1,780
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Dynamic URL's contain a query string identified by "?".

I work exclusively in building dynamic site these "?" are fine for SEO and do not require url rewrite as long as you don't keep session data in the URL.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2006, 10:25 PM
hhheng hhheng is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Posts: 245
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If you search Holiday Inn JFK in google, you will get a lot dynamic urls, and most of them rank well in SERPs.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2006, 10:32 PM
solidghost's Avatar
solidghost solidghost is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-26-06
Posts: 239
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I think nowadays it should be okay to have dynamic urls. Search engines should index them just fine without much problems.

But if you find that your site is being indexed slowly, you should use clean static urls.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2006, 11:22 PM
Sideways's Avatar
Sideways Sideways is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-25-06
Location: On the river, near the ocean at the bottom of the mountain.
Posts: 207
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan007 View Post
I work exclusively in building dynamic site these "?" are fine for SEO and do not require url rewrite as long as you don't keep session data in the URL.
Using apache to rewrite a url isn't necessary anymore ?

Last edited by Sideways; 12-01-2006 at 11:25 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2006, 12:29 AM
ninjashoes's Avatar
ninjashoes ninjashoes is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-06
Location: seattle
Posts: 353
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sideways View Post
Using apache to rewrite a url isn't necessary anymore ?
exactly, its completely pointless
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2006, 12:51 AM
Batch's Avatar
Batch Batch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-17-06
Location: India
Posts: 318
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Database generated pages are dynamic pages. Say for example you are having a site which describes about few popular products, you do provide online purchasing options for your visitors as well as visitors can opt for their preferred location to get the product in their hand and to reduce their shipment cost. To provide these facilities you must be having range of different products with different options like colors, sizes etc. List of preferred locations. Now for each product with each different combination it is not possible to create different pages. It is time consuming. In this case we will like to provide selection options for visitors, which will provide desired result from database. This is called query-generated pages or dynamically generated pages.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2006, 01:32 AM
Cricket's Avatar
Cricket Cricket is offline
No Longer Active
 
Join Date: 10-13-03
Location: Texas
Posts: 42,181
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjashoes View Post
exactly, its completely pointless
In my humble opinion, the answer is not quite that simple. There are times when mod_rewrites are in the best interest of the site.

Here is Matt's video concerning this. Note his comments on how a dynamic url which uses long numbers could cause some confusion for the bots "thinking" they are session id's.

Quote:
You definitely CAN use too many parameters, so I would opt for 2 or 3 at the most, if you have any choice whatsoever. Try to avoid long numbers, because we can think that those are session ID's. Any extra parameters that you can get rid of are always a good idea and remember that Google is not the only Search Engine out there, so if you have the ability, to basically say I'm going to use a little bit of mod_rewrite and make it look like a static URL, that can often be a very good way to tackle the problem. http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...20126300142609

Last edited by Cricket; 12-02-2006 at 01:35 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2006, 05:10 AM
Johan007's Avatar
Johan007 Johan007 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-15-03
Posts: 1,780
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricket View Post
Note his comments on how a dynamic url which uses long numbers could cause some confusion for the bots "thinking" they are session id's.
Why should anyone be using long numbers unless they are keeping session data in the URL? All due respect to Matt’s he is not always right, often back tracking on mistakes nor is he programmer and any good programmer who knows a little SEO will understand this.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-02-2006, 05:14 AM
digital_success's Avatar
digital_success digital_success is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 08-03-06
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 245
iTrader: 2 / 100%
By default, most of the dymanic URLs will have duplicate page titles, descriptions and hence they will show up in the Google supplemental results even if Google indexes them. And pages in Google supplemental index can not rank higher for competitive keywords. So it makes sense to use url rewriting not only to change the urls to friendly html links but also to dynamically change their page title and description tags.

Last edited by digital_success; 12-02-2006 at 05:19 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-02-2006, 05:20 AM
Johan007's Avatar
Johan007 Johan007 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-15-03
Posts: 1,780
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by googlesuccess View Post
By default, most of the dynamic URLs will have duplicate page titles, descriptions and hence will show up in the Google supplemental results even if Google indexes them. And pages in Google supplemental index can not rank higher for competitive keywords. So it makes sense to use url rewriting not only to change the urls to friendly html links but also to dynamically change their page title and description tags.
Any repetition of <title> or <H1> content will put things into supplemental results but blaming dynamic sites is complete and utter rubbish! The reason being...

Quote:
Originally Posted by googlesuccess View Post
By default,
In programming there are no defaults other than the ones you choose to be static. The page title or product name can be stored in a variable from the db and other variable you can edit. The variable can be inserted inside the <TITLE> and even the alt attribute of the images etc...

I could go on but I really have to get out more...

Additionally:
Being put in the supplemental Index due to repetition of <title> or <H1> will not mean the page will not rank.

Last edited by Johan007; 12-02-2006 at 05:30 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-02-2006, 06:56 AM
digital_success's Avatar
digital_success digital_success is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 08-03-06
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 245
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan007 View Post

In programming there are no defaults other than the ones you choose to be static. The page title or product name can be stored in a variable from the db and other variable you can edit. The variable can be inserted inside the <TITLE> and even the alt attribute of the images etc...

You are right. I was just limiting myself to off the shelf solutions which are normally used by non programmers to create dynamic sites for ecommerce, dating, classifieds etc.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:23 AM
webexpertz's Avatar
webexpertz webexpertz is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 07-28-04
Location: India
Posts: 203
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I wanted to learn how can we re-write URL's through htaccess.
http://www.xyz.com/index.php?cPath=2
http://www.xyz.com/index.php?cPath=2_3


I tried to find a lot of Internet but those are not professional notes and not easy to understand, i found some tools rewrite.

Looking forward.

Any help will be appreciable.
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:20 AM
Franc Tireur Franc Tireur is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 08-15-06
Posts: 10,109
iTrader: 11 / 100%
All pages on my site are dynamic asp urls with modifications.

The programmer of my template is pretty good, that allowed me to re-write the urls like I wanted.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:27 AM
vangogh's Avatar
vangogh vangogh is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-23-06
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 363
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Search engines can generally read dynamic URLs fine, but they still recommend keeping the number of paramaters to a minimum and also not using anything with an ID in it since they might consider it to be a session id of some sort.

There's a better reason though for rewriting URLs. It's a lot friendlier to the visitors of your site than all those parameters. Also if you rewrite the URL to include some keywords when someone use the URL as anchor text in a link to the page those keywords will be in the anchor text.

It's certainly not necessary since in general dynamic URLs probably aren't the problem for spiders they once were, but if it means anything on another forum where I'm a member someone using dynamic URLs seems to have many pages of his very large site indexed in Google and Yahoo, but hardly any pages in MSN. The URLs are dynamic and do contain up to 4 paramaters including one with an ID in the name.
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-02-2006, 07:53 PM
solidghost's Avatar
solidghost solidghost is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-26-06
Posts: 239
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan007 View Post
Additionally:
Being put in the supplemental Index due to repetition of <title> or <H1> will not mean the page will not rank.
Really? That's good news.
But very often I search for some words, Supplemental Pages doesn't show. Even on my site.
 
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:49 AM
ninjashoes's Avatar
ninjashoes ninjashoes is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-06
Location: seattle
Posts: 353
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I dont really see how you could have a dynamic url look like a session id or be anywhere near as long. I guess though that it could hold true.
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-05-2006, 04:14 PM
vangogh's Avatar
vangogh vangogh is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-23-06
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 363
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You probably won't have a dynamic URL that gets as long as a session ID, but search engines claim they may ignore the URL if it contains a parameter of id.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dynamic urls and seo tdd1984 SEO Forum 26 06-13-2007 06:07 AM
Dynamic vs. Static Urls and Using mod_rewrite for php solarchris SEO Forum 4 11-26-2006 05:32 AM
Dynamic to static - Directory urls kiviniar Coding Forum 3 09-15-2006 05:11 PM
Robots.txt & Dynamic URLs theChronic Coding Forum 0 07-03-2006 03:53 AM
Dynamic titles and URLs with adwords GeXus Marketing Forum 3 05-06-2006 11:31 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC