Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 10-14-2007, 03:37 PM
peter_d's Avatar
peter_d peter_d is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-04
Posts: 772
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yahoo Site Explorer Not Showing All Link Data?

Is there a difference in link counts depending if you are logged in or not?

http://www.seroundtable.com/archives/015014.html


Quote:
Notice, here Yahoo reports seroundtable.com to have 15,556 pages indexed in Yahoo and a total of 216,880 inlinks to the home page from all pages.

That is a huge difference in numbers. 57,146 inlinks and 216,880 inlinks is a huge difference in the amount of data one can get about a site.

Is it possible that Yahoo is pulling back on showing all linkage data for a site to anyone? Now you need to be the authenticated webmaster to see full data? This is similar to how Google works.
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 10-14-2007, 03:48 PM
EricBlackwell EricBlackwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 97
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Seeing the same thing here. I was doing some competitive research and the numbers are all over the map. Not a good thing to have them keeping us in the dark like G!

Eric
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2007, 06:01 PM
masterofthe masterofthe is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by peter_d View Post
Is there a difference in link counts depending if you are logged in or not?

http://www.seroundtable.com/archives/015014.html
This could be the start of Yahoo changing their ways and following Google with their limiting the inbound links appearing in their search. This could be in relation also to the change in Yahoo search appearance and typing options.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2007, 07:08 PM
coolguy27's Avatar
coolguy27 coolguy27 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 03-23-07
Posts: 1,771
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yeah, they follow Google Pattern of displaying the links... What makes them follow the Google displaying of backlinks... That's weird.. In the first place Yahoo is my one of backlink checker.. Tsk, tsk, tsk...
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2007, 07:21 PM
redspace redspace is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-06-07
Posts: 143
iTrader: 0 / 0%
maybe it is costing them some resources that they can't afford to cover anymore. previously we don't have to sign in to use yahoo site explorer now we have to. it seems they are on the way to limit on the use. so when we find it is not accurate for backlink check we won't use the services too much.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not showing up in Yahoo...banned?? Rwh909r SEO Forum 5 09-09-2007 10:58 PM
Not indexing in Yahoo Site Explorer WagerX SEO Forum 11 11-13-2006 09:34 PM
YAHOO! Site Explorer beta ariful SEO Forum 11 08-29-2006 08:28 AM
Showing properly in FireFox but not Internet Explorer agent14 Web Design Lobby 2 06-28-2006 11:34 AM
Yahoo showing backlinks even with nofollow tag bcyber SEO Forum 5 01-26-2006 06:38 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC