Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Marketing Forums > SEO Forum

SEO Forum Search engine optimization discussions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
Old 03-12-2008, 05:17 PM

in house seo question

Question,

I have been in SEO for 6 years now and I am looking to do SEO in house. My issue is that I won't have my bachelors degree until the end of this year but I still want to jump into inhouse SEO. My question is, in your humble opinion, would you or any other company hire someone with 6 years experience with a proven track record but no degree?

Side note I do own an SEO consulting firm that can be found on the web and has lists of my clients. The rest of my background is in investment sales

PS....This is not me look for a job posting, I just to know if someone would hire me before I graduate. Thanks!!

Advertisement

Advertisement

Old 03-12-2008, 05:47 PM
Contributing Member

I don't see a lot of people from Michigan

Old 03-12-2008, 05:52 PM

There is only a hand full of us in Michigan who really know SEO imho. Everybody else is working on cars! : )

Old 03-12-2008, 05:54 PM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

I would take experience way before i'd look at degrees. Can you show results you have achieved? yes, great. Can you explain those techniques to your future employer, yes, great.

You cannot get a degree in SEO. The market changes too fast, it'd be useless by the time you'd finished.

Are you able to work full time while completing this degree? You'll struggle to get an in house job if you can't. In house means in their office etc.

If you could do a full weeks work every week, the fact you were doing a degree wouldn't bother me.

Old 03-12-2008, 05:57 PM
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

dude

Quote:
Originally Posted by seoindetroit View Post
Question,