Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Blogging Forum

Blogging Forum Discuss general blogging issues here - design, integration, posting, trackbacks, ETC. Also discuss blogs you like.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 06-21-2016, 01:11 PM
JLD142 JLD142 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 06-21-16
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Assistance with making my website faster

Hello All,

Names Josh, happy to be part of the community; i have an issue with my website and extensive research does not seem to be helping me any more.

I have a website: complete-model.com
It is a wordpress website running a number of different plugins (19 to be exact) - yes i know that is a lot and its very rare that all 19 are loaded on a single page.

My website has a very slow load time, im taking between 2-6 seconds pending on caching. I am at a point now where i am debating moving to a new CMS (i do want to avoid this if possible).

I am running the latest version of wordpress and the following plugins:
bbpress
buddypress
BuddyPress Forum Editor
Capability Manager Enhanced
Contact Form 7
EWWW Image Optimizer
Fusion Core
Google XML Sitemaps
LayerSlider WP
Master Slider Pro
Nav Menu Roles
PHP Code For Posts
Plugin Organizer
Postman SMTP
Product Catalog
Recent Posts Widget Extended
Theme My Login
W3 Total Cache
Wordfence Security

I am also using the Avada theme.



At present i use w3 total cache (configured as per various website tutorials - whether this is working at optimum is beyond me).

I have tried with a CDN (incapsula.com) and this doesnt seem to provide any speed increase.

I have checked GTMetrix but cannot post a URL yet

Does anyone have any advice ?
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 06-21-2016, 02:57 PM
stringks stringks is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 04-03-16
Location: Berlin
Posts: 92
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I tried to help you by checking the website, but it's unreachable.

complete-model.com’s server DNS address could not be found.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2016, 03:04 PM
memodorial's Avatar
memodorial memodorial is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-10-15
Location: Solar System. Planet Earth
Posts: 229
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLD142 View Post
Does anyone have any advice ?
Advice #1. Use page speed insights: https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/
Advice #2. Don't use much code in .htaccess file, because it slows down entire website. Best speed = no code!
Advice #3. For international traffic, use content distribution network.
Advice #4. Don't use page redirects. Especially slows down mobile devices.
Advice #5 (more important). From personal experience, I can tell that you shouldn't use word press. Because even if you'll manage to fix something - the update will come in a week or so, meaning that you'll need to fix it over and over again. Use normal website, without content management system, and yes I mean that you should learn to code.

Last edited by memodorial; 06-21-2016 at 03:18 PM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2016, 06:50 PM
snakeair snakeair is offline
Super Moderator - Rest in Peace 2018
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 54,771
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Post the correct URL as well.

Who you using for web hosting and what package do you have?

Why am I asking this?

A lot of web hosts have recommend settings for it's clients to use when editing the W3 total Cache plugin for optimal performance. Selecting the wrong setting could hurt the page speed a tiny bit but many things can hurt the loading time as the above member has made very good points.

Check your plugins, if they have not been updated in a year, chances are they will never be and not doing you any good when it comes to performance. Find alternatives if you have to. I have about 24 plugins installed on my blog in signature. I'm hosting in the cloud on a VPS but I am still tweaking things for speed. Right now, I need to improve my mobile version since I have neglected it for years.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2016, 09:44 AM
JLD142 JLD142 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 06-21-16
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Wow, a little red faced here, my first post and I screw up the URL.

Complete-models.com

I missed out the S.. Sorry guys.
I use UK2 for my hosting on the VPS2GB plan.

I know HTML and CSS very well, I mainly chose Wordpress as a way of experimenting and then my site gree and before I knew it I was stuck on Wordpress unless I put some massive time into migration or upgrade.

Any changes made on a Wordpress website do stay as long as A) they don't update core code names..etc and B) you add it in the correct files.

Thanks in advance
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2016, 08:24 AM
memodorial's Avatar
memodorial memodorial is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-10-15
Location: Solar System. Planet Earth
Posts: 229
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLD142 View Post
Wow, a little red faced here, my first post and I screw up the URL.
Complete-models.com
I missed out the S.. Sorry guys.
I use UK2 for my hosting on the VPS2GB plan.

I know HTML and CSS very well, I mainly chose Wordpress as a way of experimenting and then my site gree and before I knew it I was stuck on Wordpress unless I put some massive time into migration or upgrade.

Any changes made on a Wordpress website do stay as long as A) they don't update core code names..etc and B) you add it in the correct files.
Thanks in advance
If you use VPS then check apache logs for different errors. For example, when user loads page, apache (without database query) requires 10MB of RAM at that moment. May be you don't have enough RAM, etc...

Database query on each none-cached page does require extra time and resources. That's the main benefit for not using CMS (content management system).

Additionally, test you page size:
http://smallseotools.com/website-page-size-checker/
Your home page size is 160.65KB. That's a lot of data for website! You can reach like x10 times less page size if you'll do it without CMS, longest you'll do it correctly.

Last edited by memodorial; 06-23-2016 at 08:28 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2016, 05:38 PM
Anthony Jacobs Anthony Jacobs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 06-30-16
Posts: 22
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Im trying to enter but it seems something is going wrong

Okey, im in. this is such a great business ideaaa! it took 3 seg for me

Last edited by snakeair; 07-01-2016 at 07:03 PM. Reason: merged posts - use edit feature
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2016, 07:03 PM
snakeair snakeair is offline
Super Moderator - Rest in Peace 2018
 
Join Date: 12-31-07
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 54,771
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Jacobs View Post
Im trying to enter but it seems something is going wrong

Okey, im in. this is such a great business ideaaa! it took 3 seg for me
So, you have any tips to help the thread creator after looking at the website?
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Blogging Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some assistance with new website ibar SEO Forum 8 07-31-2013 06:27 AM
Making the web faster for all AdSense for content publishers snakeair AdSense 0 03-17-2011 08:16 AM
Making dial up load faster? Midwifery Online Tech Talk 19 02-25-2010 12:56 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC