Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Discuss computer issues, tech gadgets and hardware, operating systems, browsers, broadband and wireless, virus, trojan, and spyware help.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 10-29-2009, 05:55 PM
alter-ego's Avatar
alter-ego alter-ego is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 03-03-09
Location: Lower Mainland B.C.
Posts: 1,301
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Computer Reboot Times

A friend of mine is in a statistical math class examining and developing a hypothesis based on computer reboot times.

All computers used for this study must be newer(ish), no old sub 1000mhz systems if you please. Newer single core or dual core (2000ish MHZ) would be most ideal; Windows only please.

Simple procedure, get out yur stopwatch (or watch with a second hand) close all programs running (not task bar items) hit the start menu and press restart then start your timer.

Please post your time to a complete reboot, to the point where you can actually start a program, not just the splash screen. If you wouldn't mind tell me your CPU and RAM amount (hard drive size is not important).

You're help here is very much appreciated

PLEASE NOTE: This is not a competition to find out who has the fastest rig; we need real world data to ensure the greatest amount of accuracy.

Thanks,

Ken
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:11 PM
Charles S's Avatar
Charles S Charles S is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-09-09
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 146
iTrader: 3 / 100%
1 minute 20 seconds dual-booting into Vista from a Phenom Quad-Core with 4GB RAM.

58 seconds dual-booting into Ubuntu. Ubuntu is so much better than Windows.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2009, 03:26 AM
togel togel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 10-30-09
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yours just got 4 seconds faster than mine. Congratulations! :-)

Last edited by HTMLBasicTutor; 10-30-2009 at 09:30 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2009, 05:54 AM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,038
iTrader: 4 / 100%
I will do this for you later today and post the results which IMO without a detailed listed of how many programs are in the start bat is going to be statistic with absolutely no meaning or value.

Also a 100% cold boot always takes longer than a reboot because extra stuff needs to be loaded.

What point is your friend trying to make?


Last edited by ScriptMan; 10-30-2009 at 05:55 AM. Reason: typo
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2009, 07:04 AM
alter-ego's Avatar
alter-ego alter-ego is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 03-03-09
Location: Lower Mainland B.C.
Posts: 1,301
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptMan
What point is your friend trying to make?
Haven't a clue really but I can certainly ask him for more specifics.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2009, 11:55 AM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,038
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Following the directions you gave, and using a stop watch, 2 minutes 23 seconds. 58 seconds of that was shutdown and 1 minute and 25 seconds was actual boot time from the blank screen to ready to open a program.

A cold boot usually mathes the 1:25 time.

Windows XP (build 5.1 (2600) with all updates.
Pent D 3.00 dual core
4 GB ddr2 wit 3.11GB of memory available for windows
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2009, 05:34 PM
edosauyi edosauyi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 08-01-09
Location: 12th Dimension
Posts: 378
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i tried it with my elder brothers laptop (dual core 2.0) and it rebooted in 54 seconds, though he dont have any other program in it apart from windows XP, he bought it not long ago and it has not been connected to the internet
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-31-2009, 07:05 AM
Kream's Avatar
Kream Kream is offline
Artist & Motion Designer
 
Join Date: 05-31-04
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,557
iTrader: 10 / 100%
1:11
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
QX6850 3.33ghz
4gb RAM
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2009, 10:27 AM
JennyRipley's Avatar
JennyRipley JennyRipley is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 08-03-09
Posts: 540
iTrader: 0 / 0%
1 minute and 35 seconds
windows xp
AMD 64x2 Dual core
2GB memory size
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-31-2009, 02:57 PM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,038
iTrader: 4 / 100%
What I want to know is why my shutdown time is so darn slow?

I really don't have that much to close out.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-01-2009, 03:15 AM
Charles S's Avatar
Charles S Charles S is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-09-09
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 146
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptMan View Post
What I want to know is why my shutdown time is so darn slow?

I really don't have that much to close out.
Before you go to shut down, precisely how many processes do you have running?


In the next week or so, I'm going to be starting a little bit of a building project. The aim is to build a Core 2 Quad with 4GB of RAM, for less than $500 NZD. I've got a case, and a 250 GB HDD - so they won't need purchasing. I'll be ordering the parts in the next couple of days. I'll let you know how quickly it boots, when it's done.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-01-2009, 05:07 AM
socks's Avatar
socks socks is offline
PHP Fanatic
 
Join Date: 10-13-09
Location: Singapore
Posts: 332
iTrader: 0 / 0%
55 Seconds
Windows 7 Ultimate
Intel P8600 Dual Core 2.4GHz
4GB Ram
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-01-2009, 05:08 AM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,038
iTrader: 4 / 100%
At this moment I have 31 processes running. I would close notepad and IE before I shut down so that shold make 29 running when I do.
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-01-2009, 08:47 AM
alter-ego's Avatar
alter-ego alter-ego is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 03-03-09
Location: Lower Mainland B.C.
Posts: 1,301
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thank you all for your feedback, very much appreciated!
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-01-2009, 08:50 AM
alter-ego's Avatar
alter-ego alter-ego is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 03-03-09
Location: Lower Mainland B.C.
Posts: 1,301
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptMan View Post
What I want to know is why my shutdown time is so darn slow?

I really don't have that much to close out.
The best thing you can do is maybe try disabling your anti virus prior to shutting down and see if it makes any difference? Other than this, you can try shutting down other 3rd party apps and see if they help with your Windows shut down time.
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-01-2009, 11:54 AM
dk44 dk44 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-17-09
Posts: 50
iTrader: 0 / 0%
15 minutes

Sinclair spectum - only kidding! Just showing my age!!
 
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-01-2009, 08:43 PM
Charles S's Avatar
Charles S Charles S is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-09-09
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 146
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptMan View Post
At this moment I have 31 processes running. I would close notepad and IE before I shut down so that shold make 29 running when I do.
Is it *always* slow to shut down? Or only after a few hours of use?
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-02-2009, 06:44 AM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,038
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles S View Post
Is it *always* slow to shut down? Or only after a few hours of use?
I don't shut it down all that often so it is usually after days of uptime.

Since I run Norton AV with all protection active I think it proxies everything as a filter. Most likely takes a while to untangle that mess before it shuts down.
 
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-02-2009, 11:09 AM
apna apna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-29-09
Location: Toronto
Posts: 10
iTrader: 0 / 0%
1:34
Windows 7 x64
AMD Dual x64
3gb RAM
 
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-05-2009, 12:31 PM
alter-ego's Avatar
alter-ego alter-ego is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 03-03-09
Location: Lower Mainland B.C.
Posts: 1,301
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks again to all who participated. I'll be sure to bleed more details from my friend and update you all when I know what the H he's actually using this data to demonstrate?
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The GREAT John Reese says you need to REBOOT IT anthony2313 Marketing Forum 7 05-19-2009 10:03 AM
About to loose my mind, reboot help please!! jasonk1234 Tech Talk 9 07-29-2007 10:26 PM
Best of the CSS Reboot kineda Web Design Lobby 1 11-07-2006 12:46 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC