Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Design Lobby

Web Design Lobby Forum for general web design issues not specific to scripting or graphics.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-31-2010, 01:22 PM
Incognito's Avatar
Incognito Incognito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 02-25-10
Location: Los Angeles, CA United States
Posts: 29
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Web Page Translation

I am wanting to translate my web site into a few different languages. Can someone tell me what goes into this besides finding someone to write code in their own language or is it that simple?
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 03-31-2010, 02:42 PM
~CReed's Avatar
~CReed ~CReed is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 11-23-09
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,068
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito View Post
Can someone tell me what goes into this besides finding someone to write code in their own language or is it that simple?
The basic code remains the same.

You just need to find someone to translate the content and other elements into the target language. Be sure to also include the meta language tag for your document/page. You can find the the ISO-639 language codes @ Wikipedia.

Tip: Stay away from machine translated text; it's never right. Be wary of those offering cheap translation services, they're usually using an online utility to translate the content you provide for them.

You might also want to find someone who can proofread the translated content for you to be sure it's a correct and accurate translation.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2010, 09:31 AM
Incognito's Avatar
Incognito Incognito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 02-25-10
Location: Los Angeles, CA United States
Posts: 29
iTrader: 0 / 0%
thanks. I have another questions...Does the database I create also need to be translated into the target language?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2010, 09:51 AM
desede desede is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 06-17-10
Posts: 6
iTrader: 0 / 0%
As mentioned by ~CReed you don't have to translate the source code of your webpage.
The only thing you have to translate is the content of your website.

I wish you good luck with your business Incognito:-)
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:39 PM
tomastamm's Avatar
tomastamm tomastamm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-14-10
Location: US
Posts: 159
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You can use Google's website translator http://translate.google.com/translate_tools
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2010, 11:50 AM
johnny.dacu johnny.dacu is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Posts: 50
iTrader: 0 / 0%
google translator is tool but depends on language and content, the results are not always good.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2010, 09:28 PM
nigelplaner nigelplaner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 07-20-10
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
To translate the website, Google translate is not an option to choose. One should consult proper language translator and should not go for machine or software translators. Any attempt to replace Human Translation totally by machine translation would certainly face failure for, due to a simple reason, there is no machine translation that is capable of interpretation.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2010, 09:49 PM
Happyseo Happyseo is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 07-23-10
Posts: 52
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Why do not you try to use worldlingo.com for website translation. It is a free tool!
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2010, 03:08 PM
turbocharged turbocharged is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 08-02-10
Location: French riviera & Haut Allier
Posts: 13
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I recommend different TLDs.

yourwebsite.com
yourwebsite.de
yourwebsite.fr
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:42 PM
folderprinting folderprinting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 08-12-10
Posts: 5
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbocharged View Post
I recommend different TLDs.

yourwebsite.com
yourwebsite.de
yourwebsite.fr
I am agree with this idea but according to seo point of view it become so much difficult to put all domains for seo at ones.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-13-2010, 01:24 PM
csm's Avatar
csm csm is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 12-18-09
Location: Rostock, Germany
Posts: 532
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Other companies use e.g.

de.domain.tld
uk.domain.tld
es.domain.tld

Ths could be the way to go. You just promote one domain.

www.domain.tld
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-25-2010, 11:39 PM
premierpixels premierpixels is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 06-01-10
Posts: 13
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If your planning to use translation software, don't rely on it 100 percent. It is best if you consult an individual who uses the language for translation.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:16 PM
rhozillez rhozillez is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 08-29-10
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
To translate the website, Google translate is not an option to choose. One should consult proper language translator and should not go for machine or software translators. Any attempt to replace Human Translation totally by machine translation would certainly face failure for, due to a simple reason, there is no machine translation that is capable of interpretation.
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-05-2010, 05:50 PM
andresc2 andresc2 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 04-10-10
Posts: 57
iTrader: 0 / 0%
if you are going to use google translator or any type of machine, just make sure that you show it to someone that is familiar with that language so that they can give you some tips on how to improve it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:10 AM
johnsonmike johnsonmike is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 08-11-10
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hi
Use correct spelling, grammar, and punctuation for the highest quality translations.
After you've translated some text, click the button marked "Search the web with this text" in order to launch a search using the translation results as your query.
Compare a translated web page with the original by clicking "View page in its original language."
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:00 PM
Kirti.Seo Kirti.Seo is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 08-31-10
Posts: 87
iTrader: 0 / 0%
you don't have to translate the source code of your webpage.
The only thing you have to translate is the content of your website
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Design Lobby

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Translation = Traffic projectx SEO Forum 11 07-09-2010 04:10 AM
SEO Translation davest SEO Forum 9 03-17-2008 04:30 PM
Translation services ! ncowling SEO Forum 4 01-26-2004 03:18 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC