Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Discuss computer issues, tech gadgets and hardware, operating systems, browsers, broadband and wireless, virus, trojan, and spyware help.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 01-07-2018, 05:48 PM
H2 rider's Avatar
H2 rider H2 rider is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-21-15
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 96
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Upgrade to an SSD hard drive

A few months ago my expensive HP laptop died. I expected it to last many years, but the screen went kaput after just four years.

I found a Lenovo laptop with Windows 10, 4GB of ram and an AMD processor for $200. The laptop worked fine for simple stuff though multitasking would slow it down. My friend is a "computer guy" and he recommended an SSD hard drive. A 240GB Sandisk drive was on sale for $75 and my friend installed it for me.

Performance - WOW! This cheapie computer is fast now! Quickie than my desktop computer.

If you're looking to improve your computer's performance consider an SSD drive. They are more expensive than the standard drives. One way to keep your cost down is to buy a smaller size drive as I did and if you need more space for data, connect a portable drive up as needed.
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:07 AM
shibaa987 shibaa987 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-05-16
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 159
iTrader: 0 / 0%
From my experience I can say that having SSD is not enough. SSD may load application faster but eventually you need computing power which is the CPU and a faster RAM for an actual faster system.

I have a DELL Latitude E7450 and an Alienware 15 R2 with me. Both are having SSDs at the core storage. They both differ in CPU and RAM. E7450 has core i5 4th Gen and a DDR3 RAM while the alienware has Core i7 6th Gen and a DDR4 RAM.

I can clearly see the difference in processing by both those laptops despite having SSDs.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2018, 08:56 AM
LMD's Avatar
LMD LMD is online now
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-04-12
Location: Where my wife tells me to be. :)
Posts: 5,987
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ya I'd have to agree with the previous poster re CPU, however, the drive can be important part of the equation as well.

To the OP - what kind of up-tick in performance do you now get once the apps are opened, and the CPU is required to work hard at tasks like complex graphics or other math-oriented operations?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2018, 01:17 PM
H2 rider's Avatar
H2 rider H2 rider is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-21-15
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 96
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The laptop ran fine with basic aps running (chrome, excel, etc.) Multi tasking would bog it down. I didn't even bother installing photoshop. My friend who works in IT recommended the SSD and it made a huge difference. It runs just as well as the HP laptop (up until it croaked) that had an intel processor and 6gb of ram.

With the SSD the laptop multitasks and runs Photoshop with no problem.

I don't see those Lenovo laptops selling at that low price anymore. I bought it brand new with Win10 for $200 from Best Buy and paid another $85 for the SSD, also from Best Buy.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2018, 02:24 AM
basratransport basratransport is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 02-04-17
Location: jalanndhar
Posts: 37
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well i also prefer to go for SSD drive because there is huge advantages over normal one and also speed, less errors etc
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2018, 07:13 AM
LMD's Avatar
LMD LMD is online now
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-04-12
Location: Where my wife tells me to be. :)
Posts: 5,987
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by basratransport View Post
well i also prefer to go for SSD drive because there is huge advantages over normal one and also speed, less errors etc
So, you've done this? Changed over to an SSD, that is?
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2018, 05:55 AM
LMD's Avatar
LMD LMD is online now
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-04-12
Location: Where my wife tells me to be. :)
Posts: 5,987
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by benene View Post
ssd is like memory sticks, if you forget it in a pocket, it can easily broken. I prefer hdd.
Of all the posts I've discovered from you today, this one has got to be the most fatuous of them all.
You wouldn't happen to be on a "post run" to try and get your signature enabled, would you??
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2018, 10:57 AM
H2 rider's Avatar
H2 rider H2 rider is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-21-15
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 96
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Right. An internal SSD won't be forgotten in a person's pocket.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2018, 02:16 PM
multitrackers's Avatar
multitrackers multitrackers is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-31-18
Location: Ireland
Posts: 58
iTrader: 0 / 0%
SSD is much quicker.

I got 4 more GB of RAM last summer.

I also wanted to switch to a SSD drive (for the reasons mentioned above). But the cost was too expensive (for a decent sized SSD drive).
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-2018, 04:54 PM
mycomputerlessons mycomputerlessons is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 02-11-18
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Glad that OP was able to get better performance. If I were you I would add 4 GB ram too. You will see huge difference in performance, especially if you are running software that requires higher ram during run process.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-30-2018, 01:31 PM
H2 rider's Avatar
H2 rider H2 rider is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-21-15
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 96
iTrader: 0 / 0%
My friend configured my desktop computer with a 500mb SSD drive recently. It's running an AMD processor, probably a couple of years old, and 8mb ram.

With the SSD it runs great on Win 10. I might increase the ram, though it's not needed. I use the computer for work, not gaming or other video intensive things.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-21-2018, 05:06 AM
BWDHS's Avatar
BWDHS BWDHS is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-10-17
Location: UK
Posts: 56
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Bought my SSD for my laptop a few years ago, also use it for our hosting and we've never looked back.

Performance increase is supposed to be around 8x with the drives also been able to last much longer than the standard ones.

If you've haven't got one, get one I think the message is in this forum thread !
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-22-2018, 09:54 PM
multitrackers's Avatar
multitrackers multitrackers is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-31-18
Location: Ireland
Posts: 58
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I will be buying a new laptop next month - hoping SSD drives are now cheaper, and I can afford a decent size of drive.
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-23-2018, 01:26 AM
BWDHS's Avatar
BWDHS BWDHS is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 05-10-17
Location: UK
Posts: 56
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by multitrackers View Post
I will be buying a new laptop next month - hoping SSD drives are now cheaper, and I can afford a decent size of drive.
They is some good offers online, you can get 256GB SSD from about 70 upwards.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-09-2018, 04:20 AM
saeed_moradi saeed_moradi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 06-18-15
Location: US
Posts: 6
iTrader: 0 / 0%
with SSD drive, make sure you are leveraging dropbox or google drive for your important files!
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-05-2018, 03:33 AM
dewalds86's Avatar
dewalds86 dewalds86 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-14
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 294
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If you think a normal ssd is fast than you should try m.2 ssd
 
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-05-2018, 09:50 AM
LMD's Avatar
LMD LMD is online now
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-04-12
Location: Where my wife tells me to be. :)
Posts: 5,987
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I've been considering changing over to an SSD for the OS and maybe some programs (if I can get a big enough SSD) for a while now, but am not sure how I'd clone my current spinning drive data and config over to the SSD. I don't want to have to reinstall everything all over again to the SSD. Has anyone cloned their spinning drive to an SSD without a lot of technical steps required.

FYI - I've been using Acronis to clone my machine internal drive to one of equal size and speed in an external BlacX toaster.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive Making weird sound. areeshkhan544 Tech Talk 9 05-11-2017 11:41 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC