Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Coding Forum Problems with your code? Discuss coding issues, including JavaScript, PHP & MySQL, HTML & CSS, Flash & ActionScript, and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 08-13-2013, 07:18 AM
imbilly imbilly is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 06-21-13
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
iTrader: 0 / 0%
URL Problem

Hey,

I'm using Joomla and I changed the orginization of my site and it's changed the urls.

Previously the urls were like so:

http://www.mysite.com/browse_by_category/1297-dental-care.html

But with the reorginization they're now like this:

http://www.mysite.com/1297-dental-care.html

The trouble is that Google had crawled a fair number of the old urls and now when it crawls them they give off a 500 server error.

I'm thinking this is a problem.

So, anyway to redirect those old url's to the new url pattern without doing them individually? Or would it be possible to set things up so my site returned a 410 error rather than a 500 error for the old pages?

Thanks for any thoughts you have on this.

Billy

P.S.
Original url contains "browse_by_category" and the new pattern doesn't

Last edited by HTMLBasicTutor; 08-13-2013 at 07:28 AM.
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 08-13-2013, 12:19 PM
MichaelTurnIt MichaelTurnIt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 08-13-13
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You could 301 all pages back to updated sitemap so Google will crawl pages quickly and pass some authority evenly through all websites.

Anyways - why in the hell did you do that without backing up your plan?
Your SEO can seriously hurt now.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2013, 01:45 PM
imbilly imbilly is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 06-21-13
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hey Michael,

Thanks for the suggestion. It's a newer site, Google hadn't yet crawled much of the site, so there wouldn't have been much seo to lose if the pages had just thrown a 400series error. Google would have dropped them and picked up the new urls and that would have been that.

My understanding is that the 500 series errors are a different situation. Havng said that, even though there are a lot of them, they're still a small percentage of the sites total pages.

If I've got to redirect each one manually I'll just 301 them to the new urls. I'm just looking for a solution that's a little less labor intensive and that doesn't clutter up my htaccess file.

Billy
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2013, 01:55 PM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,038
iTrader: 4 / 100%
I'm pretty sure there is. I am not the one to tell you how to write it.

If JH does not make it by this thread I suggest you PM him as he may be able to whip it out off the cuff.

If there are less than 50 the manual way may be the easier tried and true choice. That is the the route I took with about the same number.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2013, 02:01 PM
imbilly imbilly is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 06-21-13
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hey Script,

Yeah there is definitely more than 50.

Billy
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2013, 02:28 PM
imbilly imbilly is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 06-21-13
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hey Script,

Maybe there are others out there, but I just found this tool for doing multiple 301 redirects. You just need the old url and the new url which you can do in excel and it generates the htaccess rules.

http://seo-website-designer.com/HtAc...ing-ToolResult

I'd still like to find a little less cumbersome solution, but if I have to do it individually, this will definitely cut down on the work

Billy
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2013, 03:49 PM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 14,038
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by imbilly View Post
Hey Script,

Maybe there are others out there, but I just found this tool for doing multiple 301 redirects. You just need the old url and the new url which you can do in excel and it generates the htaccess rules.

http://seo-website-designer.com/HtAc...ing-ToolResult

I'd still like to find a little less cumbersome solution, but if I have to do it individually, this will definitely cut down on the work

Billy
That has a lot of promise. I used notepad copy and paste when I did it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2013, 05:57 PM
Tiggerito's Avatar
Tiggerito Tiggerito is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 09-12-10
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 320
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If you have any ideas on how to improve the tool then post them here or pm me.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2013, 06:09 PM
imbilly imbilly is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 06-21-13
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hey Tiggerito,

Quote:
If you have any ideas on how to improve the tool then post them here or pm me.
I think it's a great tool, certainly will take the pain out of having to redirect each page individually if that's what I end up having to do.

Thanks for making that available, Tiggerito.

Billy
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2013, 08:17 AM
imbilly imbilly is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 06-21-13
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hey,

As what I'm hoping is a temporary fix I've gone ahead and written individual 301 redirects. I'm hoping it's temporary because I've had to add 1600 301's to my htaccess file.

What I'm really hoping is that there is one re-write rule I can add that will redirect the "/browse-by-category" version to the non "browse-by-category" version. If any one has any ideas I'd like to hear them.

Billy

P.S. I used Tiggerito's tool for writing 301 redirects. In combination with excell it took me about 10 minutes to write the 1600 redirects and put them in my htaccess. Very nice tool.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-18-2013, 08:36 PM
Tiggerito's Avatar
Tiggerito Tiggerito is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 09-12-10
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 320
iTrader: 0 / 0%
@imbilly, cheers for the nice feedback.

Try this:

RewriteRule ^browse_by_category/(.*)$ /$1 [R=301,NE,NC,L]
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-19-2013, 03:55 AM
imbilly imbilly is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 06-21-13
Location: Chicago
Posts: 457
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hey Tiggerito,

Quote:
Try this:

RewriteRule ^browse_by_category/(.*)$ /$1 [R=301,NE,NC,L]
Perfect, worked like a charm. I really appreciate it.

Billy
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Coding Forum

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google's China Problem (and China's Google Problem) - NYTimes Sunday Mag (4/23/06) Julie Google Forum 4 10-26-2009 02:54 PM
Problem with godaddy. Post your problem here!! charlesgan Web Hosting Forum 12 04-22-2009 08:41 AM
Problem in my website or problem in browser? speedo1234 Coding Forum 7 12-23-2008 01:41 PM
Problem with text looking funky on windows… maybe an anti aliasing problem? jpf566 Web Design Lobby 2 07-09-2008 06:40 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC