Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Discuss computer issues, tech gadgets and hardware, operating systems, browsers, broadband and wireless, virus, trojan, and spyware help.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 01-08-2010, 08:45 AM
Adeel Sami Adeel Sami is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 10-18-09
Location: Punjab, Pakistan ..
Posts: 384
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Computer on generator ?

Is it safe to run desktop computer on generator ?
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 01-08-2010, 10:18 AM
backlinks.cc backlinks.cc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: 01-02-10
Posts: 34
iTrader: 0 / 0%
if you have somekind of Adaptor....I think it's fine....
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2010, 11:31 AM
DavidCDD DavidCDD is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 12-03-09
Posts: 590
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Yes that should be fine as long as you have something converting the power down to the suitable level if needs be.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2010, 10:18 PM
frih's Avatar
frih frih is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Posts: 428
iTrader: 0 / 0%
It is OK. Make sure you are getting the sufficient level voltage.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2010, 10:31 PM
printrobin printrobin is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 06-22-09
Posts: 56
iTrader: 0 / 0%
No problem, but you should keep in consideration the voltage level...
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2010, 10:36 AM
pramudyawirawan pramudyawirawan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 01-01-10
Posts: 8
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adeel Sami View Post
Is it safe to run desktop computer on generator ?
Generally yes, better if equipped with stabilizer or UPS.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2010, 02:40 PM
ScriptMan's Avatar
ScriptMan ScriptMan is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: 02-10-07
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 13,251
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by pramudyawirawan View Post
Generally yes, better if equipped with stabilizer or UPS.
I agree. I don't think I would run mine on a generator without a UPS. Charging a laptop battery with the machine off should be fine.

Some the voltage can fluctuate if use commence or stop when using a generator.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2010, 05:03 PM
stoner3221 stoner3221 is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 01-25-04
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 758
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I use mine with a Honda Inverter and a UPS in my camper frequently. Never any kind of problems in doing so.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL Certificate Generator fermiop Web Hosting Forum 7 01-25-2010 04:48 AM
eProfit Generator Netspider The Webmaster Marketplace 0 03-15-2009 10:24 PM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC