Webmaster Forum

Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Discuss computer issues, tech gadgets and hardware, operating systems, browsers, broadband and wireless, virus, trojan, and spyware help.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1  
Old 03-06-2010, 12:17 AM
andry andry is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 02-02-10
Posts: 163
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Question How to connect through Telnet

Hi friends. Here I have a very interesting query for you i.e. how to get connected via telnet. I also wanna know the working of telnet with file sharing techniques. I knew that networking admins use it to connect PC so i wanna go for it as I am always curious for learning. I am waiting for the help eagerly.
 
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 03-08-2010, 09:16 AM
Dani_938's Avatar
Dani_938 Dani_938 is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 02-19-10
Posts: 111
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Telnet is usually used for command based machines like Linux, Unix etc. For windows, usually RDE (Remote Desktop Sharing) is used. You can use your windows command prompt to telnet other machines however. Use telnet /? on CMD of windows and it will show you all the options with which you can use telnet.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2010, 09:42 AM
StarLab's Avatar
StarLab StarLab is offline
v7n Mentor
 
Join Date: 10-29-07
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,444
iTrader: 0 / 0%
This no longer works on Windows7 (Telnet not supported I guess) but in XP or earlier simply open a command prompt and type something like this:

“telnet towel.blinkenlights.nl” (without quotes)

This particular Telnet address will show you StarWars Ep. IV done entirely in ASCII animation.

Just replace the above Telnet address with whichever one you're trying to connect to.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2010, 10:13 PM
andry andry is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 02-02-10
Posts: 163
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dani_938 View Post
Telnet is usually used for command based machines like Linux, Unix etc. For windows, usually RDE (Remote Desktop Sharing) is used. You can use your windows command prompt to telnet other machines however. Use telnet /? on CMD of windows and it will show you all the options with which you can use telnet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarLab View Post
This no longer works on Windows7 (Telnet not supported I guess) but in XP or earlier simply open a command prompt and type something like this:

“telnet towel.blinkenlights.nl” (without quotes)

This particular Telnet address will show you StarWars Ep. IV done entirely in ASCII animation.

Just replace the above Telnet address with whichever one you're trying to connect to.

I think my problem has been misunderstood here. I have asked about the way or process to connect the two PC (or more) via telnet. This tut doesn't show how to do that. Rather I request you to share any link to tutorial for telnet. Also wanna know about its working procedure.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:47 AM
drmike's Avatar
drmike drmike is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,745
iTrader: 0 / 0%
File transfers via telnet:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=49573

There are better methods though. Maybe if you told us what you were trying to do, we may be able to give a better solution.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2010, 03:56 AM
andry andry is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 02-02-10
Posts: 163
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ok. I have 4 PC in my home. When I need to share some data then rather I need to use USB drive or the file sharing system of windows. So I searching some basic service of windows than I came to know about the telnet. Even messages can be sent via it. So I was asking for the working process of it in XP. Basic tuts doesn't helped me out.

And drmike your new avatar is quite impressive.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2010, 06:39 AM
drmike's Avatar
drmike drmike is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,745
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If you have them networked, I'd just use the file sharing system of windows. It's already there and setup. You don;t have to worry about anything else.

Could have sworn that XP took telnet out. Running Vista here so I can;t check.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2010, 10:59 AM
keenespointe786 keenespointe786 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 03-10-10
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Networking is the best solution of this thing..If you want to share data with other PC than networking is the best solution of this all.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2010, 10:18 PM
andry andry is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 02-02-10
Posts: 163
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Here asking all about the connectivity via telnet. I don't think that commands will be differ in the vista as compare to XP. I am requesting again for the tuts on it. Still unable to find the desired answers. Plz mods and admin help me out.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:02 PM
thewebhostingdir thewebhostingdir is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 03-26-08
Posts: 659
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You have to configure telnet server in all systems to login from all systems. You should use tool like kpym telnet/SSH server. In this tool even you can configure SSH and you can use any command line utility in your windows XP system.

This tool might satisfy your curiosity.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-11-2010, 07:04 AM
drmike's Avatar
drmike drmike is offline
Contributing Member
 
Join Date: 01-22-10
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,745
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewebhostingdir View Post
You have to configure telnet server in all systems to login from all systems. You should use tool like kpym telnet/SSH server. In this tool even you can configure SSH and you can use any command line utility in your windows XP system.

This tool might satisfy your curiosity.
I'm always against installing and using another program when you should have the ability currently to do what you want.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:38 PM
sheryamathur sheryamathur is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 02-21-10
Posts: 141
iTrader: 0 / 0%
We can not say that Telnet is better then other because compare to Telnet ,sharing data by using Network is better.By sharing data we find output without affecting to other system or user easily.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-16-2010, 01:39 AM
mhuktar mhuktar is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: 02-12-09
Posts: 207
iTrader: 0 / 0%
try to configure your network file sharing, then use teamviewer to remotely use other computer, telnet is a little bit difficult to use on retrieving file, because it doesn't have the GUI thing, and more prostrating than that is every thing you do have to be executed by code or command.
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > The Webmaster Forums > Tech Talk

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Telnet from PHP JohnAvo Coding Forum 1 12-07-2009 03:00 AM
unable to connect mabel01 Tech Talk 11 10-02-2007 02:08 AM
How to Connect Two Systems? dreamsubmitting Tech Talk 4 04-23-2007 08:56 AM
telnet not working. mybluehair Tech Talk 10 12-22-2006 10:52 AM
How to connect 2 computer mich9el Forum Lobby 15 11-13-2003 07:18 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2014 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2018 VIX-WomensForum LLC