Webmaster Forum


Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Design Lobby

Web Design Lobby Forum for general web design issues not specific to scripting or graphics.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Share |
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:23 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 12-09-05
Location: Kensington, London
Posts: 10
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Question This is strange

So from yesterday to today a porn site has sent me over 8000 hits, my site isnt related to porn at all and i dont advertise on porn sites so i cant work out why they are sending me hits. The traffic also seems to be generated by a proxy script as the ips only view one page. Heres a small screenshot

Their is no link to my site from the site either, i emailed the site owner just asking why hes sending me hits not got a reply yet.
Just think this is a bit wierd and what could the person gain from doing this...
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2005, 01:48 PM
DOS's Avatar
DOS DOS is offline
Senior Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 08-03-04
Posts: 526
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If the traffic is just killing bandwidth it might be best to block visitors coming from there.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2005, 01:57 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 12-09-05
Location: Kensington, London
Posts: 10
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Its not killing bandwidth, the ips seem to just view one page each. I think its fake traffic from a traffic script because the site uses adengage and adbrite to advertise and dosent even get enough uniqes a day to send this kind of traffic. I dont know if i can post adult sites here if i can i will. The site is using a hell of alot of SEO spam aswell.
Just blocked the site with .ht but hits are still coming, its over 11,000 now what is the point to this? Could this get me banned from fastclick?
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 08:52 AM
cuongdm's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 05-03-05
Location: www.VietBright.com
Posts: 12
iTrader: 0 / 0%
not for sure mate.... I haven't had this thing happned to my sites... IMO, it's great when you have lots of FREE traffic that people have to pay to have... good luck...
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:52 AM
John Scott's Avatar
Individualist
 
Join Date: 09-27-03
Location: Japan, mostly
Posts: 27,715
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Most likely just Referer Spamming. A script fakes hits to your site to get the URL listed in your stats page - and a few people out there have their stats pages available for search engines to index, and that's what they are after. That is, a link from your site to theirs.

Nobody is actually visiting your page from the "referring page".
__________________
My Facebook - Add Me
“It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”
JSES
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 10:47 AM
Sabeur's Avatar
Contributing Member
Latest Blog:
None

 
Join Date: 12-04-05
Posts: 509
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well i seen a script long time ago called i-faker or sumthing like it sends random refferals from google when people are searching. Not sure if that script is there but it has spam and it just not good.
__________________
v7n Addict
Young Webdesigner & coder
HAHA I LOVE It
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 02:40 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 12-09-05
Location: Kensington, London
Posts: 10
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I think he was most likely using i-faker. Dont know why though i thought people only used that for fake impressions when selling advertising.
Quote:
Most likely just Referer Spamming
Maybe but i thought i read somewhere SE's dont give credit to referal links on stats pages? I read this a few days ago but maybe the guy never knew this. Cheers
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 08:06 PM
minstrel's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-28-04
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 385
iTrader: 0 / 0%
It doesn't have to work - all that's required is that the person doing the referer spamming THINKS it might work.

That said, there seems to be some disagreement as to whether it does work or not. On another forum, someone suggested checking Google, Yahoo, MSN, etc., for backlinks to the site in your logs to see if you are included.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:11 PM
John Scott's Avatar
Individualist
 
Join Date: 09-27-03
Location: Japan, mostly
Posts: 27,715
iTrader: 3 / 100%
WilliamC did some referrer spam for us back when we were internet-marketing-research.net - he did it with the url http://www.internet-marketing-resear...thical-company

It didn't have the effect he desired, and did absolutely nothing for our rankings, but you can still see some of the occurences in stats in a Google search for that URL.
__________________
My Facebook - Add Me
“It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”
JSES
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:20 PM
minstrel's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-28-04
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 385
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnScott
WilliamC did some referrer spam for us back when we were internet-marketing-research.net - he did it with the url http://www.internet-marketing-resear...thical-company

It didn't have the effect he desired, and did absolutely nothing for our rankings, but you can still see some of the occurences in stats in a Google search for that URL.
Geeze, what a sleazy piece of pond scum that twerp is...
 
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:22 PM
John Scott's Avatar
Individualist
 
Join Date: 09-27-03
Location: Japan, mostly
Posts: 27,715
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by minstrel
Geeze, what a sleazy piece of pond scum that twerp is...

Incompetent sleazy piece of pond scum.
__________________
My Facebook - Add Me
“It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”
JSES
 
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:24 PM
minstrel's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-28-04
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 385
iTrader: 0 / 0%
LOL, yeah that too...

Incompetent pompous sleazy piece of pond scum.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:28 PM
John Scott's Avatar
Individualist
 
Join Date: 09-27-03
Location: Japan, mostly
Posts: 27,715
iTrader: 3 / 100%
I think we got him pegged.
__________________
My Facebook - Add Me
“It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”
JSES
 
Reply With Quote
Go Back   Webmaster Forum > Web Development > Web Design Lobby

Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CSS - looks strange in IE - please help! Emsan Coding Forum 11 01-03-2008 04:45 AM


V7N Network
Get exposure! V7N I Love Photography V7N SEO Blog V7N Directory


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2013 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2003 - 2013 Escalate Media LP




Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.